Getting Healthy: Week 12 Update

I’m not sure how it happened, but I am down .4lb this week. See, somewhere around Wednesday I gave up on tracking for the week & just went with it. Friday – Sunday I didn’t track points at all. I didn’t go all “going to eat whatever I want” or anything, but I know I didn’t stay within my points for the week either.

Anyway…

This morning I went to see an orthopedic surgeon to get my hip checked again. I was being cautious, but I wanted to make sure that I was just dealing with bursitis again (or still) and that nothing else more serious was happening. The verdict: my x-rays look good, the pain is bursitis again, and I really liked this doctor. He’s sending me to physical therapy again for a couple weeks & he wants to see me back in 6 weeks, at which time he’s going to help me with my exercise plan. In the meantime though, I need to not do things that cause pain in my hip so it can get better (apparently just pushing through the pain is not the best solution), which means no running for the moment. I am still quite determined to run a 5k sometime in the next year, though. I think I just need to get a few (*cough* 20 *cough*) more pounds off before I really try to run – it’ll take stress off the knees and other joints if I’m not carrying quite as much weight around.

So, the plan for the week: Get to the gym, spend some time with my friend the treadmill, etc, so on and so forth. I’m hoping for a bigger loss next week ’cause I really need my smaller pants to fit again.

