In the Kitchen: Hummingbird Cupcakes

Hummingbird Cupcakes

It’s possible that these have become my favorite cupcakes. There’s something unexpected, yet completely delicious about finding pineapple, banana, and pecans all in your cupcake. There’s also something delightful about being able to mix and bake the whole shebang without having to get my hand mixer out of the drawer and plug it in.*

The recipe came from Chockylit, but I’ve adjusted a couple things when I make them, so I’m reprinting the whole thing here with those changes. The big change is that instead of 3/4 cup of oil, I use 3/4 cup of applesauce. Cuts down on fat & calories in a big way & keeps the cupcakes nice and moist.

Hummingbird Cupcakes
makes ~30 cupcakes

3 cups flour
2 cups sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
3 eggs
3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
1-1/2 tsp vanilla or vanilla bean paste
1 8oz can crushed pineapple, with liquid
2 mashed bananas
1 cup chopped pecans

1.Mix together the flour, sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, & salt in large bowl.
2. Beat eggs, then add applesauce & vanilla and mix until combined.
3. Add egg mixture to flour mixture. If you try to stir at this point, it won’t work that well. You can wait until step 5.
4. Mix together pineapple, bananas, pecans.
5. Add fruit mixture to large bowl & stir to combine. 
6. Place in cupcake tins.
7. Bake at 350F for ~18 minutes, until golden & a toothpick inserted in center of a cupcake comes out clean.

I used my large cookie scoop when putting the batter into the cupcake tins & I found that two scoops made a good sized cupcake without it overflowing too much.

Cream Cheese Frosting:
For this, I used a basic cream cheese frosting. This recipe frosted the whole batch, though I found that I had trouble getting it to the right consistency this time. I thought it was a little too sweet, but my tasters all loved it.

8oz cream cheese at room temperature
1/4 c (1/2 stick) butter at room temperature
1 to 1 1/2 tsp vanilla bean paste
Few drops of lemon oil (optional – I used it to add a little tart to the sweet)
4-5 c powdered sugar (I lost track of how much I used. Whoopsy.)

Using a mixer, combine butter & cream cheese until mixed well. Add vanilla & lemon oil (if using) & mix. Add powdered sugar 1 cup at a time until the desired consistency.

Frost cupcakes & enjoy. I do find that these are a little stickier than your normal run of the mill cupcake & I think that’s because of the applesauce. But hey, if you’ve already got frosting all over your face, what’s a few extra cupcake crumbs, right?

*My kitchen is not kind to the hand mixing. The outlets are inconveniently placed so that I have to mix things using it while balancing the bowl on my kitchen sink. That same outlet is the one that keeps my refrigerator running. I don’t know who designed my kitchen, but it’s not great. Better than the kitchen-slash-hallway I had in one apartment, but still not great.

2 thoughts on “In the Kitchen: Hummingbird Cupcakes

  1. Those you so lovely and I have been wondering about a Hummingbird cake since reading Sarah Addison Allen. However, to know hidden in that yummy exterior is pineapple AND banana, well I am glad I am warned. You are such a good baker, makes me wish that I could stomach those fruits.

Comments are closed.