Getting Healthy, Week #11

The birthday celebration continued into last week, including an impromptu pizza night (and then pizza weekend, as I had leftovers) after my eye exam on Thursday. So it was with a bit of trepidation that I got on the scale this morning. I was just hoping that I could maintain the loss I’d had so far, so imagine my surprise when the scale weighed me in a bit less than I’d been the previous weigh in. It was only .4 pounds, but still — it was a loss after a couple of relatively bad food weeks. Clearly my return to Zumba has done me well.

Speaking of Zumba, I had remembered that I like it, but I had forgotten how much of a workout it actually is. I went yesterday & today my booty and hips are sore from all the work. I find that I can put a little extra oomph into it when I know the routines, but it’s harder to do that when I’m trying to learn new things. I’m sure that I’ll get to a point where it’s easier to do everything with extra bounce, but right now at least I’m doing it. I even managed to land weirdly on my ankle about 20 minutes into class yesterday, but powered through. I wore a brace the rest of the day as an added precaution, but all seems fine today.

I’ve kind of lost interest in the whole 5k thing. I still want to be able to run one and I would love to be able to do that by September, but I feel like it might be easier on my body if I lost more weight before trying to run.* Not that I’m taking it easy, but running seems to be especially hard on my hip(s) and knees, so I feel like I might need to wait just a little while before kicking into high gear there.

I really really want to be able to do the Thanksgiving 5k in Festus. To be able to run a 5k in my hometown, the place where I dreaded going to gym class and where running was something I never wanted to do – it would be a huge win physically and mentally. I know I’m a different person now, but being able to break through that wall in the hometown – it would be a symbolic victory. Will I actually be able to do it? I don’t know. But I hope I can.

I’m back on track this week with food & stuff. Today is a rest/no gym day, which I find I quite look forward to. Even getting to Zumba class requires a lot of effort most days. I’m still not one of those people who feels the need or desire to work out – it’s a means to an end. I wish I did feel a pull to go to the gym – it would make life easier. Maybe once I really nail down a routine I will, but for now I’m still fighting it.

*My hip has been extra screamy the past couple weeks. I’m not sure if it’s just because I’ve been doing more aerobic activity (instead of just spending time on the treadmill) or if I need to get it checked out again, though. It feels like there’s some extra muscle pain now that hasn’t been there before. It doesn’t hurt all the time, though. I think I’m going to give it another week or two & if it isn’t feeling better, I’ll make an appointment.

One thought on “Getting Healthy, Week #11

  1. I’ve heard such good things about Zumba, and it looks like so much fun, but I’m just hopelessly uncoordinated. I could just picture myself falling on my ass over, and over, and over, and over. And then once more for good measure.

Comments are closed.