In the Kitchen: Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl Cupcakes

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcakes

I was asked to make cupcakes for a work event that was on Thursday, but I had to do it out of supplies I had available as I didn’t have the time to hit the grocery store. What I really wanted to make were some nutella swirl cupcakes I had seen the previous week (thanks to twitter), but I didn’t have any nutella. So I went a searching and I saw this picture. They looked fantastic. I became a little tiny bit obsessed. I found the cake recipe. I had the supplies. Thanks to Stef from Cupcake Project, I was able to figure out how long to bake them since I was doing cupcakes instead of a full cake.

I had planned to come here and talk about how delicious these cupcakes were – it’s chocolate and peanut butter, a winning combination. Sadly, they were not nearly as delicious as I had hoped they would be. The cake was too dry without a real frosting, and having just had some delicious moist dark chocolatey cupcakes that Rachel baked for my birthday knit night, I was disappointed. They weren’t bad cupcakes, they just weren’t my best effort. Thinking back on it, I wonder if maybe they were baked a little too long – I went 18 minutes per batch. But I don’t know that I care enough about the flavor to find out. I’m stealing Rachel’s recipe and trying it next time.

