Getting Healthy, Week 9

I had to put a pair of jeans back into retirement this week.* I feel almost like there should be some kind of ceremony for this occasion. The “my pants are huge” ceremony. I don’t know exactly what you would do here – perhaps a moment of silence for the jeans or pants followed by a raucous celebration that you can’t wear them anymore. Although maybe that’s a little overboard. Perhaps just a small happy dance instead. (There is a little song that goes with the happy dance, but it’s only in my head.)

Of course, this now means that I’m down one pair of pants & really don’t want to have to go buy more right now, especially since I have smaller pants in my closet that are close to fitting. I’m just going to have to tie some yarn around my other pants to hold them up when they’re that much too big. That’ll totally work, right?  _________________________________________________________

The weigh in this morning was surprising, if I’m being honest. I was down 1.8 pounds in a week that had me hoping I wouldn’t post a gain on the scale. But, I weighed myself multiple times this morning (as I always do) and the number was the same each time.

This 1.8 pounds puts me at 11.8 lost since I started WW  & at my 5% loss. So, another 11.3 pounds will find me at 10%. Woo! Of course, this same exciting weight loss also took away one of my daily points (I’m VERY slowly moving towards the cap on that, but it’s still a bit away), which I wasn’t expecting & didn’t notice until I logged in to record my breakfast this morning. Usually, a little window will tell me that my points were reformulated, but I guess the website was so excited that I hit the 5% goal that it forgot to tell me that. ____________________________________________________

While I was eating lunch today, my “chicken” from my frozen meal had a weird texture. That texture is apparently the tapioca starch they use IN the chicken. Why it can’t just be chicken and only chicken, I do not know. But it was kind of gross. Chicken flavored tapioca. THINK ABOUT THAT FOR A MINUTE. Right?

Anyway, this leads me to think I may try to make my own frozen meals as lunches. Probably won’t happen this week so much, but I might cook some on Monday or Tuesday (vacation days RULE!) and test it out next week. We’ll see. ____________________________________________________

I finally returned to Zumba this week. Yesterday, as a matter of fact. I’m always surprised at how much of a workout you can get doing Zumba – it’s almost too fun to be a workout. But I’m still at the gym, so y’know. It’s the gym. Anyway, it was my first time back in probably a year & I am uncoordinated. It’s going to take me a while to catch back up & be able to do things without tripping over myself.  ________________________________________________________

As for the mini-goals I set for myself for last week? Mostly accomplished.

  • hit the step/walking goal for at least 5 of the 7 days. Done. And, thanks to my Zumba class yesterday, I even went over the amount I needed to hit for the week.
  • Spend some time on the treadmill working up to the running. Um, I spent some time on the treadmill. No running this week, though. I’ve been a little more sore than usual, but I’m going to see the amazing Dr. F on Friday, so I  should (hopefully) be back at it next week.
  • More fruit/veggies. I remember running out of fruits & veggies this week, so I must have done something right.

There are no mini-goals for this week. I have a birthday coming up and I plan to indulge a little. Or a lot. I’m going to try to keep myself in check early in the week so I can be bad at the end. And I may or may not weigh in next Monday. I haven’t decided yet. It all depends on how bad I am.

*After I gained a few pounds back, I found them in a pile I had never gotten around to donating. Since I was short on jeans & they still fit (or fit again), I put them back in rotation.

