She runs, runs, runs…

I’m going to take a moment to talk a little more about the whole exercise thing after last night’s workout.

I went to the gym last night determined to put in my full hour on the treadmill. As the hip has been problematic the past few months, I haven’t been doing my full speed ahead routine that I had been doing prior to going to see the amazing Dr. F, chiropractor to the stars.*

Anyway, last night I kicked up my walking speed after a quick warmup. I had been staying around 3 mph, so I decided to test myself and kicked it up to 3.2 mph, which is not that much difference, but at the same time, it is. I also decided that I would try a few running intervals just to see what I could do. I had done about one a session the last few times I’d gone, but I really wanted to push myself.

This is where it gets kind of exciting. At least for me. I had to up my running speed from 4.4 to 4.6 because 4.4 felt too slow. I only did about 3 intervals before I went back to walking for the rest of my time, but that’s a vast improvement. And you know what? I think I kind of love running. Not in the insane “I’m going to run a marathon” way.** But I just feel like I’m accomplishing something when I run. Walking is boring. Almost everybody walks. It’s how you get from Point A to Point B. But running? It’s not something that everybody does. And even though I’m just doing about 90 seconds at a time right now, it feels kind of amazing to be able to do that 90 seconds at a time.

How does my hip feel about this? Well, it feels okay. I’m still working out some of the stiffness and I’m doing a lot of work to make sure it gets stretched out and strengthened, but for the most part it does not scream at me for trying to run anymore. It’s a little sore today, but not more sore than it would be after a good workout.

Small steps, people. And someday soon I can hopefully tell you that I’ve accomplished goal 5a on my life list.

*Well, chiropractor to the Wednesday knit night crew, at least. And some other people whose names you might know.

**Although I may get to that point. WHO KNOWS.

