Getting Healthy Update, Week 6

Last week was tough. I ate A LOT of stuff that I shouldn’t have. I stayed within my points for the week, but just barely. I went to a dinner party on Saturday, where I ate my weight in food. Most of it was healthy food, but still. I ate a ton.

Life in general kept me away from the gym for the week, but I still managed to get a couple sessions of yoga in.

Matching ShoesThis week starts a new walking program through work, so I’m wearing my pedometer every day for the next 7-8 weeks (I’m not actually sure how long this thing runs). Of course, this morning mine fell off when I got out of the car, but I didn’t notice it until I was already in my office. Which means I got an extra 1/2 mile in today when I walked back to my car to get it.* I think our team can win prizes or something, but I don’t know what those might be. Anyway, as of noonish today, I’ve walked over 4600 steps, which is almost halfway to the 10,000 step goal for the day.

This coming Saturday also brings about my first ever 10k. It’s a run/walk over in Edwardsville, but I’m just walking it. I may try to jog a bit, but there will be no real running. Even at that, I’ve never walked that distance before, though I have done a 5 mile hike. This can’t be much harder than that, right? RIGHT? I’m feeling like I may be in over my head this one, but I won’t know until I try.

I weighed in this morning at 221.2, which is exactly 1 pound down from last week. Had I put in the decimal on my first weigh in instead of rounding down, I would be down over 10lbs now**. As it is, I’m at 9.8 pounds down. I guess I’ll get my 10lb star next week. :P

*If I had known for sure that it was in my car & not somewhere on the side of the road, I probably would have left it. But I paid for this thing (I upgraded from the free version), so I was not about to lose it on the very first day I used it. Also, at 8:30 in the morning I should not be sweating buckets from a short walk. It was like a billion degrees outside. Exaggerating, yes. But it was still hot.

**This is why I shouldn’t sign up for things tired. I weighed myself, put in the whole number & didn’t even think that maybe I could use a decimal point until I weighed in a week later. DOH! So my loss is about a half a pound off what I initially weighed in as. Not a big deal except that, damn, I wanted to be all “WOO! I’m down 10 pounds!” officially this week.

One thought on “Getting Healthy Update, Week 6

  1. I think that it’s wonderful that you’re starting a walking program through your work; walking is such wonderful, gentle exercise. I hope that the heat becomes more bearable.

Comments are closed.