The Peach Keeper

One of my recent favorite authors is Sarah Addison Allen. When I had jury duty last August, I zoomed through two of her books in one day. Or one and a half books. Either way, I ran out of reading material before I went home my first day. At that time, she only had 3 books out.

YIP 296.365 Reading In March, her 4th book, The Peach Keeper, was released. I put my name on the list at the library & picked up my copy this weekend. I started reading it last night and finished it when I got home from work (reading during lunch & waiting at the chiropractor). Even with work and sleep, it took me less than 24 hours to read this book.

What I love about Allen’s books is that they suck me in right away, there’s a little bit of magic (but not Harry Potter wizard magic), and the story keeps me engaged the whole time. These are not books that are going to change the world, but they are books that provide an escape, that entertain me, and that make me crave more. If I have a criticism, it’s that the story gets tied up too quickly at the end – I always want more at the end.

Now I just have to sit and wait for her next book to come out. Maybe I’ll reread the others in the meantime.

2 thoughts on “The Peach Keeper

Comments are closed.