In the Kitchen: Nutella Oatmeal Cookies

Oh, hello there. Where were we? Ah, yes, there was a sheep festival. And then there were cookies.

As our normal Sunday knit group is no more, I had all day Sunday free. It seemed like a great idea at the time – I’d clean the apartment, make Mindy’s matzoh tags, do some knitting, and relax a little. Except that around 7pm, I didn’t feel like knitting and I was BORED. B.O.R.E.D. BORED.

Apparently the thing to do when bored is make cookies. I could have gone to the gym, read a book, or done something productive, but NOOOO. I made freakin’ cookies. Some of the best freakin’ cookies ever.

Before you read any further, go to your kitchen. Do you have a jar of Nutella in there? Yes? Good. You’re going to want it after this.

YIP 282.365 Nutella Oatmeal Cookies

Nutella Oatmeal Cookies
(slightly modified from this recipe. Seriously – go look at her cookie pictures and tell me you don’t want to crawl through the screen and stuff all these cookies in your mouth).

  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup Nutella (or a smidge more if you’re emptying out the container)
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 cups old fashioned rolled oats
  • 3/4 cup mini semisweet chocolate chips (you could probably go up to a cup, I just only had 3/4 a cup left.)

Preheat the oven to 375F. Get out your nonstick cookie sheet(s).

Mix together your butter & Nutella (I used my handheld mixer & the whisk attachment for the whole thing. It worked really well). Blend until fluffy. Add the sugars, baking powder, baking soda, & salt. Beat until well mixed. Add eggs & vanilla, beating again until incorporated. Add the flour in two batches, beating after each addition. Add in oats & mix well (this is where I switched to my wooden spoon). Add in the chocolate chips and mix one more time.

Drop by tablespoon onto nonstick (or lightly greased) cookie sheet – they do spread out a bit, so make sure to leave some space. Bake for 9-10 minutes. Let cool on pan a couple minutes, then transfer to wire rack to cool more. Stuff into your mouth while still warm or save some to share with your coworkers.

I got around 48 cookies from this recipe. Maybe more. It’s hard to tell since I was trying to do math after I’d eaten a few cookies.

Side note #1: One of my best purchases in the kitchen was a cookie scoop. I’m fairly sure I waxed poetic about it before, but without it, there was no chance “BORED” would have ever translated into “try a new cookie recipe”. If you have a cookie scoop, USE IT. It makes cookie baking time more fun.  I used the “small” one when I made these.

Side note #2: I’ve been trying to use Pintrest more when I find something I want to save for later. That’s how I found this recipe, actually. I like the idea behind it, but I have a bad habit of forgetting about it for a few weeks at at time, then randomly pinning a ton of things all at once. Mostly recipes.

