Sewing: Charm Square Quilt

YIP 275.365 Charm Square Baby Quilt

One of the other things I managed to do over the weekend was to make another quilt top.

I have a problem. It’s called “using up my fabric stash”.

Charm Squares Quilt

This one is the Charm Square Baby Quilt, again from Elizabeth Hartmann of Oh, Fransson. The fabrics I used are from two out of print Amy Butler lines – Ginger Bliss & Temple Flowers. The sashing is ivory Kona Cotton.

It came together really quickly – only took about 3 hours total (including cutting the charm squares in half & the sashing). I did this because (a) I had the charm squares languishing in my stash (along with a few other sets that I have yet to do anything with), (b) so that I could do a test run before I start work on a larger Halloween version for Mindy and (c) so I can use it to practice machine quilting on.

Now I just need to get my sewing machine with quilting capabilities fixed so that I can try out that machine quilting thing. I do have 2.5 quilt tops I need to do something with, after all.

