Knit & Crochet Blog Week, Day 7.

Day seven: Your knitting and crochet time.

Write about your typical crafting time. When it is that you are likely to craft – alone or in more social environments, when watching TV or whilst taking bus journeys. What items do you like to surround yourself with whilst you twirl your hook like a majorette’s baton or work those needles like a skilled set of samurai swords. Do you always have snacks to hand, or are you a strictly ‘no crumbs near my yarn!’ kind of knitter.

Oh, my. I craft all the time. ALL. THE. TIME. I knit when I watch TV – simple projects allow me to watch things for the first time, more complicated projects render the TV little more than background noise (and repeated viewings of the movies & shows in my DVD collection). In the evenings after work, weekends when I’m not doing other things, etc. I’ve tried to listen to audiobooks while knitting, but I can’t concentrate on listening to a book and a complicated pattern at the same time, so it hasn’t worked out.

I also hit up a couple knitting groups – one on Wednesdays at my favorite LYS & one on Sundays at a local Starbucks. This is actually the last Sunday for the Starbucks group, as our members have slowly been moving out of state. In the end, there are just a handful of us left. Shannon is moving (very) soon & Mindy and I don’t really need to meet up on Sundays to knit together. We had a good run, though – a little over 4 years together overall. I’ve been with the Wednesday group a little over 4 years, too. Actually, it’s probably closer to 4 1/2 years. Mindy & I started going shortly after Rachel founded the group & have been there ever since. It really gets me through the early part of the week.

Sometimes I’ll knit while in waiting rooms at Dr’s offices, but I usually use that time to read – I don’t want to have to stop in the middle of a row or something when I get called back & then forget where I am. Which is fine, because it does allow time for me to catch up on my books and such.

 

