Knit & Crochet Blog Week: Day 4.

Day Four: 31st March. Where are they now?

Whatever happened to your __________?

Write about the fate of a past knitting project. Whether it be something that you crocheted or knitted for yourself or to give to another person. An item that lives with you or something which you sent off to charity.

I’ve been knitting since late 2005, so there are quite a few finished objects to reflect on.

Two Socks

First socks, February 2007

My first pair of socks. I made these out of some Koigu I had purchased for a scarf (don’t. ask.), well before I had ever thought I’d learn socks. Eventually, I saw some other folks who had started knitting about the same time I had conquered socks, so I thought I’d give it a try. The best advice I got was to trust the pattern. Especially when turning the heel. Trust. The. Pattern.

After I finished these early in 2007, I went on to make another 6 pair of socks that year. (It’s no wonder I burned out on them. I’ve not been into the sock knitting so much lately, though I do still love the hand knit socks.)

YIP 127.365 My apartment is COLD

First socks, November 2010

As for where these socks are now? They’re still around, no holes, a little felty on the feet, but I wear them a lot through the winter. It doesn’t often get cold enough here for me to wear wool socks all day long, but I have discovered the joys of wool socks in my cold apartment.

It’s funny to realize just how much these socks have faded since I finished knitting them. The colors are much more muted and blended now than they were then. But these socks? They do not get lovingly hand washed after every wear. They go through the washer on normal, with all my other clothes. They usually get air dried, but sometimes they even make it through the dryer. Given that they’re now 4 years old, I’d say they’re holding up really well, especially as my most worn socks.

