Knit & Crochet Blog Week: Day 3

Tidy mind, tidy stitches.

How do you keep your yarn wrangling organised? It seems like an easy to answer question at first, but in fact organisation exists on many levels. Maybe you are truly not organised at all, in which case I am personally daring you to try and photograph your stash in whatever locations you can find the individual skeins. However, if you are organised, blog about an aspect of that organisation process, whether that be a particularly neat and tidy knitting bag, a decorative display of your crochet hooks, your organised stash or your project and stash pages on Ravelry.

It’s funny that this is the topic today – just last night I wrangled a few skeins that I hadn’t yet photographed for Ravelry & took pictures. One sad little skein of yarn still doesn’t have a picture because I couldn’t find it. I went through all my yarn bins & nothing. I’m sure it’s just hiding somewhere because my containers are a little full.

YIP 313.365 Yarn is taking over...
I can’t be the only person this happens to, right?

Keeping everything up to date in Ravelry borders on obsession for me. I have all my yarn listed because I do a lot of planning on my lunch hours and such. So if it’s not listed, I don’t have it. Making sure it’s all there saves me a lot of time (and money, really). But even though I have ample storage for it in my apartment, lovely plastic tubs full of yarn, I can’t always seem to get it back to the tub when I’m done with it.

YIP 73.365 Piled

I think it gets worse when I’m working on a project that will require more than one skein of yarn. I tend to pull out all the yarn I’m going to need for that project & then it sits randomly around my living room, usually winding up on the bookshelves. Even when it’s a sweater I’m working on that will take me FOREVER, the yarn will sit and wait. I am getting better about it – just last night I had to go hunt down the second skein of yarn for the sweater I’m working on.

Periodically I will organize my stash within the tubs, but sooner or later, it becomes “oh, look, there’s space to shove this skein” when I get to the cleaning up. In fact, I just reorganized the stash a couple weeks ago, which is why I can’t find the lonely unphotographed skein. It’s an oddball in the stash, so I can’t figure out which container would have gotten it.

As for my needles & crochet hooks, those I’m better with.

In the first picture up there, you can see my “decorative” needles – those are the metal straights that were my mom’s & that I don’t really use (unless I’m having a needle emergency). There’s also the scrap ball containers, but those are less obvious.

As for the other needles, my friend Wendy is a much more creative and better sewing/quilting person than I am & she made some “needle nooks” that I use for my dpns & fixed circulars.
Needle Holders
I’ve got two for the dpns & one for fixed circs. My interchangeable circs (that I use for nearly everything anymore) are in the container that came with them, but the cables are (usually) found in my cable needle holder thing that Mindy crafted up (that I do not have a photo of). Crochet hooks are (mostly) kept in the plastic thing they came in when my mom got them many moons ago. The ones that don’t fit there stay in my random notions travel bag. Notions that don’t get used every day (or all that often) – who knows where they are. I have at least 3 different containers holding them, plus the ones that get lost under the couch or bed when the cats have crazy play time.

I always feel like my stash & needle collection is less organized than it really is, I guess. I’d like to be the person who has labels on the boxes so I know where to find things, but I don’t think that will ever happen. I’ll be doing good if I can just keep everything put away.

One thought on “Knit & Crochet Blog Week: Day 3

  1. I forgot all about the Needle Nooks! So glad they are being put to good use!
    Your blogging is inspiring! I just reorganized my studio, I should take pix for my blog before its all messed up again!

Comments are closed.