Knit & Crochet Blog Week? Don’t mind if I do.

There is something about being off work that makes one think they will get all sorts of things accomplished – craftiness, massive amounts of cleaning, blog post writing, etc. Instead, I did one of the 3 things on that list, leaving the poor blog in the dust.

I’ve seen this Knitting & Crochet Blog Week thing pop up a couple places already this week & I’m going to jump on the bandwagon, I think. Since it’s already Tuesday, I’m taking a hint from Julie & combining the first two days here.

Day One: A Tale of Two Yarns.

Part of any fibre enthusiast’s hobby is an appreciation of yarn. Choose two yarns that you have either used, are in your stash or which you yearn after and capture what it is you love or loathe about them.

There are so many yarns that I love in this world. Anything by certain dyers (like Rachel & Sarah), your basic Cascade 220 and Berroco Vintage (my current favorite “cheap” yarn), but my go to yarn for soft and pretty is Malabrigo. Oh, how I love thee. SO VERY MUCH.

Malabrigo - Azul Profundo

The original Merino Worsted, the Silky Merino, Sock, the newer additions of Twist & Rios. I love them all. It’s so soft & perfect for scarves or other cold weather accessories. The colors are vibrant. There are options, people. OPTIONS.

IMG_0056
This yarn is single-handedly responsible for my current obsession with this honeyed gold color.

As for a yarn I loathe, I can’t think of many. I’m sure there were several I cursed to high heavens while using them, but LOATHE is such a strong word. Oh, wait, actually I do remember. Ella Rae Classic. Splitty splitty splitty. I used it to make Shel’s Flying Spaghetti Monster and maybe it was the miles of i-cord that really sealed the deal, but I am not a fan, even if he did turn out pretty awesome.
Flying Spaghetti Monster

Day Two: Skill + 1UP

Look back over your last year of projects and compare where you are in terms of skill and knowledge of your craft to this time last year. Have you learned any new skills or forms of knitting/crochet (can you crochet cable stitches now where you didn’t even know such things existed last year? Have you recently put a foot in the tiled world of entrelac? Had you even picked up a pair of needles or crochet hook this time last year?

I did some crazy stuff last year, knitting (and crochet) wise. Stuff I hadn’t done before.

  • Like knitting a cardigan out of laceweight yarn. In 43 days. Just so I could have it for graduation. (Study? WHO NEEDS TO STUDY?) I had issues with laceweight yarn before I worked on this cardigan. So naturally, I went and chose the laceweight-iest yarn I could find. OF COURSE.
  • A beaded lace shawl. Again, a bit of insanity there, as I’m a bit of an ADD knitter. It helped that this was a KAL at Knitorious, but it’s still miraculous that I didn’t give up halfway through and throw it out the window. I need to go more places I can wear this.
  • Crochet. It was on my list of things to learn last year & learn it I did. I’ve made a few small things, including the most awesome zombie ever, and I now feel secure enough in my skills to take on more complicated crochet projects.
