Too many times before

Those goals I talked about a couple weeks ago? Meh. I’ve done okay with them, but not great. Not really even good. Just “ok”. No matter how many goals I set or what I know I SHOULD be doing, I lack the motivation or desire to get it done.  So I went back to the archives – trying to figure out what spurred me to start this whole attempt at weight loss and everything in the first place.

It’s not that I’m uncomfortable as a chubby girl, but I’m of the belief that MANY of my health issues could be taken care of with a bit of weight control. And, well, who doesn’t want to look & feel better, right?I don’t expect to ever be a small person. Hell, my goal weight still puts me in the “overweight” category. In order to be in the “normal” BMI range for my height, I’d need to lose almost 100 pounds. Right now, I’m looking at 60 pounds I’d like to lose. But really, I’d just like to be healthier. (September 11, 2008)

I think when I realized that I could lose weight with diet & exercise, that became the focus of my efforts – I started to feel like the weight loss was the goal instead of just feeling better and getting the health issues under control. I know it didn’t help that after a 20lb weight loss (or so), I had some issues with high cholesterol & had to be put on yet ANOTHER medication to control that.

So. I’m going to focus on how I feel. I’m going to incorporate more healthy foods into my diet & avoid fast food for the most part. Sensible choices. Exercise because I feel better when I’m active & OH BOY, does my hip need some working out. And, as it is now Lent, it seems like a good time to re-establish the healthy habits. No deprivation because (other than the necessity that was eliminating soda) that makes things worse for me. I obsess about what can’t have until it becomes much bigger than it would have been if I’d given in when the craving hit.

Not worrying about the weight will be an issue, but I think I will try to not weigh myself during the next 40 days. I might cave, but it’ll be easier to focus on how I’m feeling if I’m not focused on what the scale says.

Now, if someone could just point me in the direction of some fun cardio that won’t make me fall on the ground panting until I work back up to my hour-long Zumba class, that would be great. :)

One thought on “Too many times before

  1. Kara, do you have a Wii? I have several friends having a blast with Wii Fit and even the new Zumba for Wii (rent it first as I’ve heard mixed reviews). If you still have access to the gym, you might look for classes that mix cardio with strength training so you get a bit of a break building up your stamina. Pump and TRX would be worth a look. Also, I don’t know if cycling is an option for you, but I have met a couple of cycle instructors who really keep class lively. One of them plays music for sing alongs and the other takes us on virtual tours with each ride. Good luck!

Comments are closed.