Sunday Music #14: Christmas

I spent the weekend dogsitting again, which meant that I had access to satellite tv and all the Christmas specials I could stomach. Which really wasn’t that many. I caught a few of my favorites that I don’t have on DVD – Twas the Night Before Christmas (Part 1, Part 2, Part 3 – all on youtube), A Christmas Story, How the Grinch Stole Christmas. I caught Billy & Mandy Save Christmas, in which Santa is a vampire & it’s up to Billy, Mandy, & Grim to save the holiday – it’s not one of the finer moments in Billy & Mandy history, but not terrible.

Now, terrible was The Miser Brothers Christmas, although I don’t really have room to judge. It’s a new story featuring Heat Miser & Snow Miser from “The Year Without A Santa Claus (one of my favorites). But they restyled all the characters. Mrs. Claus looks RIDICULOUS. I couldn’t get through the whole thing, quite honestly. I kept hitting the fast forward button to see if it would get better, but they styling of the characters REALLY bothered me. If it’s going to be a “sequel” of sorts, I feel like the elves, Santa, & Mrs. Claus should all LOOK the same. They didn’t change the Miser Brothers all that much, at least. It was just…wrong. On so many levels. *sigh* Our old Christmas specials just aren’t sacred anymore. (The trailer is here so you can see what I’m talking about)

Anyway, since I’m in the Christmas spirit & next Sunday will be the day AFTER Christmas (and, thus, no longer appropriate for me to do this), for Sunday Music this week I’ll be sharing a few of my favorite Christmas tunes.

Mariah Carey – All I Want For Christmas Is You (don’t judge me, it’s the only song I like from her.)

U2 – Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)

The Pogues with Kirsty MacColl – Fairytale of New York

Sara Bareilles – River (there are a lot of versions of this one I like, just found this one. The video quality is a little shaky, but the audio is good.)

Louis Armstrong – ‘Zat You, Santa Claus?

Ella Fitzgerald – What Are You Doing New Years Eve?

I also wanted to include Louis Prima’s “What Will Santa Claus Say (When He Finds Everybody Swinging)?, but I couldn’t find it.

