Weighing my options

I’ve been toying with the idea of connecting my blog to my facebook updates. I noticed several people doing it, so I’m not  reinventing the wheel. But I’m hesitant for a few reasons.

  1. In the past, I didn’t want my blog connected to my full name. I know that most of my readers know who I am already, so I wouldn’t change much by connecting the two at this point. But I’ve been doing this so long that taking that leap seems strange.
  2. The family. I don’t want to know they read my blog. If they read & I could pretend I didn’t know they were doing it, that would be fine. But I can’t see some of them (a) not commenting or (b) saying “I saw that on your blog” to me. If that happens, I start censoring myself, then I just don’t write anymore and this little place dies. So do I say specifically “don’t comment, don’t say you read this on my blog” to them? Or just take a chance?

Why am I thinking about doing it in the first place? I don’t really know. I promote my new posts on twitter and my ravelry friends read. Real life friends read, too. Pimping myself out on facebook feels like an inevitable next step somehow. Especially for those times when I’d like a little more interaction with my (small) audience – like when I ask for music recommendations.

I don’t know what I’ll do. Nothing will happen until after Christmas at a minimum, just because I’ve already mentioned (or at least posted pictures on flickr, linked on the sidebar) of a present for at least one of the people who will inevitably read if I do proceed with the facebook linkage.

