Swirly Twirly Gumdrops. Or trying to plan getting crafty.

I am thrilled that it’s Friday right now. The week after a long holiday weekend always seems so much longer by comparison. Plus, I have SO MANY things to do and Christmas/gift exchanging is creeping ever closer.

My plans for the weekend include boring stuff, like cleaning the living room (especially the “craft corner”) so that I can do fun stuff, like decide on fabrics and such for sewn gifts. I also plan to knit until my fingers fall off. And possibly make a decision on which cookies I should bake for a holiday party/cookie bake-off at the boss’s house.* I’m also hitting up the “Stampin’ Up” class at Knitorious this weekend – we’re making tags for our handknit gifts. Just in time for me to give them all away.

Changing the subject (though still talking about knitting)… I want to make this cute mitten garland for my holiday decorations. Except I know I won’t have time to do it this year before Christmas. I have all the necessary supplies, just not the time. I have a feeling that once I finish the holiday knitting, I’ll be the crazy person not only knitting for Christmas after it’s over, but doing it into the summer. On the plus side, I’ll have a new decoration to add to the collection next year.

I realized today that I have 12 13 knitting or crochet going right now and only ONE of those is a Christmas gift. I was hoping to finish many of them by the end of the year, but that was before I decided to do Handmade Holidays 2.0. It’s just not going to happen. I would love to finish my Twenty Ten cardigan, but also have the crocheted wrap that would be great to have & my legwarmers which will be super functional for my walk to the office come January. Then again, I’ll probably do what always happens – work on whichever project it is that is speaking to me at the time.

*Not everyone will bring cookies, but baking is what I DO. I can’t not enter. Right now I’m still trying to decide between traditional with a twist or something completely different.

