endless red tape

I got the memo today about our upcoming open enrollment period for health insurance at work.

I am pissed.

Here’s the thing – they are trying to get all of us to go to affiliated physicians. Which I can understand. But these physicians don’t have the capacity to take on all of the employees and their families. It’s just not a viable option. Yet we’re going to be penalized for going to non-affiliated physicians.

It’s bullshit is what it is.

I like my doctor. She’s fantastic & I see her for pretty much everything. She’s affiliated with other hospitals. I don’t want to switch docs, but I may have to – I can’t afford to pay $500 out of pocket during the year (then 10% after I hit that deductible) to go see her on a regular basis.

It’s bad enough that our physician choices are restricted by who takes our insurance, now this company is trying to restrict that choice even more by trying to overload a finite system.

Are you fucking kidding me?

I mean, it will work – for people like me who can’t afford to pay that much out of pocket, we really have no choice. But it doesn’t mean we’ll be happy about it. The best I can do is talk to my doctor & see if she has someone she can recommend on the new plan. *fingers crossed*

The other part of these changes they are rolling out is trying to incentivize participation in a “vitality program”, which will save us $20 a month on insurance premiums. I’m not opposed to this as much, but there’s no way some random person is drawing my blood for the same tests my doctor does every six months, and that I had done just last month.

I’m trying to take care of my own health. The last thing I need is some random person who doesn’t know me or my history judging how I do that. I think that’s what pisses me off the most.

