summer stretching on the grass

I am done with summer. Seriously, over it. The heat, the humidity, the oppressive feel of the air the moment  you walk outside… ugh. It almost makes a girl want to move to Alaska just to get away. Almost.

The most annoying thing about THIS summer has not been the heat or humidity, though. Sure, that’s annoying, but it’s nothing compared to my summer wardrobe.

T-shirts. Polos. 2 pair of capri pants that only match certain things in my closet. 1 pair of capri pants that match a lot of things, but are much to big for me to actually wear.* There are many items in my closet waiting for the time when I lose that 20 pounds I gained back. Things that fit last summer, but don’t anymore.

I long for fall and winter. I love the sweaters, jeans, boots, layers upon layers of warm, snuggly clothing when it dips just below freezing here. Sweaters hold up to my lifestyle better than t-shirts. Jeans are my favorite clothing item in the world, especially when I can find a good pair to wear.**

It’s weird, but Fall and early winter are my season. I feel better about myself during that time of the year. It’s just easier to dress nicer. I look more professional at work, I look better when I’m out. It’s just…better. And the anticipation of cooler weather hits every year about this time.

I’m done with summer. I’m ready to break out the sweaters & scarves. I’m a knitter, it’s what I do.

*We aren’t even going to talk about the situation with my underthings.

**I am still angry that Lane Bryant changed to this “right fit” crap for their pants and jeans. None of them actually fit me well. There’s either too much room in the waist, too much room in the hips, too much room in the booty.

One thought on “summer stretching on the grass

  1. Try Dress Barn….. the only place I can get clothes that not only fit but are actually flattering too!

Comments are closed.