So much for the light show

When it comes to meeting new people, I am a bit socially awkward. I don’t know what to say, so I’m quiet. Or, given that I’ve had a large amount of caffeine, I can also be obnoxious. I’ve talked a bit about this before, so we’re not covering new ground.

Yet, for some unexplainable reason, Saturday found me away from home for the afternoon, hitting up the ladyblogger meetup (that’s just fun to say) that Kelli arranged at Bottleworks, then meeting some twitter folk downtown for the Silversun Pickups show (the last of the Celebrate St. Louis series this summer). The blogger meetup was fairly low stress as I had previously met quite a few of the attendees, so it was good to catch up with them. There were still moments where I was the quiet awkward girl sitting in the middle of the table, but we’ll gloss over that.

The evening, though. Oy.

Here’s the thing – I went by myself to hang with people I kind of knew from twitter, but who all knew each other. Which means I was quiet and awkward (see above). I needed people to snark with about the damn hipsters. Seriously – there was a girl in gold sequined hot pants. GOLD SEQUINED HOT PANTS. And I did not know if these were the type of people who would appreciate my fashion policing (not that I should have been policing considering I was the chubby girl in the tank top and capris, but WHATEVER. It was almost 100 degrees Saturday, totally a reason to be in a tank top).

Somewhat related side note: You’ve seen the Evolution of the Hipster, right?

The sheer number of chest tattoos on girls I saw Saturday night was staggering. So much so that I predict the tattoo removal business will boom in about 20 years. Don’t quote me on that, though. I mean, it’s cool to have the tattoos and all, but I can’t imagine that some of these people are going to want to be covered when they’re older. Which is probably why it took me until I was 25 to commit to the first one.

YIP 22.365 Silversun Pickups
Silversun Pickups, before the lightning ended the show early.

As for the show, it was good until we got rained out (8 songs into the Silversun Pickups set). Understandable reason to cancel, but still a bit of a bummer. Then again, by 9pm when that happened, I was tapped out for the night – it was nice to get home early, hit the shower, and veg out for a bit. I’m glad I got the chance to see these guys, & I’ll definitely try to see them again.

The abbreviated setlist:
1. Growing Old Is Getting Old
2. Well Thought Out Twinkles
3. Sort Of
4. There’s No Secrets This Year
5. The Royal We
6. Little Lovers So Polite
7. It’s Nice To Know You Work Alone
8. Future Foe Scenarios

