it falls on me

Last night found me at a last minute (of sorts) birthday gathering for our friend & fellow knitter S (@transplantmom on twitter), who came down from Chicagoland to party it up. When I say party, I mean knitting and a potluck. That’s how we roll.*

I ate so much freakin’ food yesterday that I’m surprised I didn’t explode.

After eating everything in sight, knitting, and reading “I gave my cat an enema” (my favorite thing is the picture of the actual cat at the end, but read through it first), I headed home and started seaming up a baby sweater.

Now, I really have no idea what I’m doing seaming this sweater. Mattress stitch for the side seams, fake grafting for the shoulders (thank you Kim & my Stitch & Bitch book). I’m good there. But there is a collar & it’s giving me hell.

This is the pattern I’m using. This pattern also caused me to inadvertently flounder my way through an intarsia-like stripe sequence on the same collar. Bastards.

The instructions say:

Sew Collar to neck edge by placing collar, right side facing up, on top of right side of front, sew edges together.

Which I did. Except. My collar “wings” (for lack of a better term) aren’t long enough. So I thought, fine. Whatever. I’ll just cover that up with the i-cord I wasn’t going to do. I whipstitched the collar mostly down and it does not look good.

I'm having issues

As I see it, I have a couple options:

  1. Take the collar off, add a couple inches to each side to make it meet up in the middle like it’s supposed to.
  2. Do an applied i-cord edge (in the main color, not the contrast one) to disguise the seam & hide the too short collar edge.

The problem with each of these options, though:

  1. I’m not sure how to do a seam that will look good if I leave off the i-cord (as in the original plan).
  2. I have no real idea how to do this. I did a google search for applied i-cord and the instructions I found did not make a whole lot of sense to me.

Clearly, I need some help with this. If you have other ideas or suggestions or just want to vote on which option is the better one, PLEASE let me know. I’m willing to entertain other ideas that I might not have thought of. As long as I’ve been knitting, I’ve only had to seam 2 projects, so this is not my strong suit. I don’t mind the seaming, I just don’t want it to look crappy.

*Big thanks to the lovely Rachel & husband for getting the shindig together & bringing caffeine when I was hit with a headache due to lack of caffeine.**

**I thought I might try to wean myself off the daily coffee this week. HAHAHAHAHA.

3 thoughts on “it falls on me

  1. Those directions are confusing. Can you just sew the collar to the jacket so the seam is hidden when the collar is flipped over?

    If I am reading this correctly, then applied i-cord is easier than sewing i-cord down. You would need to pick up stitches just under the original seam and hide the seam within the cord itself….hrmmm, this might be something that needs to be shown in person. I just watched a few of the most popular applied i-cord videos and they were more confusing than they needed to be.

Comments are closed.