Get your kicks on route sixty-six

sunset
Arizona sunset, December 2007

D-squared have been talking about going on a road trip out to Phoenix to see my family, after which they will head on to California to see her family. I said “yeah, sure, I’ll go with you as far as Phoenix” and then just kept trying to figure out my life.

Well, last night when they stopped by for dinner, we talked about when to go & tentatively planned our actual dates. I say tentative because it’s the end of September/beginning of October when we’re planning to be out there. It’s hard for me to have real dates in mind without plane ticket or hotel reservations, and since this is very much a road trip, less my flight home, there are no concrete and tangible things for me to hold on to and say “YES, I am going on vacation!”

That doesn’t mean I’m not already planning the hell out of the trip for myself, though.

I did a quick google search to see what route we’d take, then matched it up with the closest one I could in my Roadtripping USA book*. As it turns out, it looks like we’ll be mostly doing the Route 66 cruise from StL to Arizona before we have to head further south towards Phoenix.

Did you hear the “squee!” in my head when I realized this? I put the Route 66 road trip on my life list because I want to be able to do this so much. And while this is not the trip in which I will stop at every single roadside place along the way, we will be stopping some places and touring and visiting and all that jazz. So far in the plan:

  • Stop in Oklahoma, visit my Aunt & cousins in the eastern part of the state. Head towards Oklahoma City & hang with the cousin who lives there with new husband and baby.
  • Amarillo, Texas. Home of the Cadillac Ranch.
  • Old Town Albuquerque. Okay, I really just want to see The Candy Lady again and make sure her coconut bon bons are as good as I remember. And maybe visit the Rattlesnake Museum and San Felipe de Neri Church.
  • Petrified Forest. As I get older, I have more of a desire to see the big national parks. I want to go spend some time hiking around Glacier National park, visit the Grand Canyon again for more than an hour and a half, stop and see nature. So when I realized the Petrified Forest was on the route, it went on the list.
  • There may be a side trip to Flagstaff once I get to Phoenix, as one of the Stonecutters lives there & I’ve yet to make it to Flagstaff other than the brief drive through on our way to the Grand Canyon many many years ago.

So, I’ve JUST started figuring out where we might want to stop & what to see. I’m not sure what things are on the agenda for D-squared, but there’s plenty of time to figure that out. If you have any suggestions of things I need to see along Route 66 between StL & the Petrified Forest in Arizona, leave a comment. I might not get to everything this trip, but I like to have a plan.

Now to hope that there isn’t TOO much family togetherness on this trip.

*Birthday gift last year. LOVE IT.

