Life List Item #3: Taste mmmph kinds of chocolate or candy

I don’t know who it was who first put together peanut butter and chocolate*, but that person was a genius. I can’t say if he or she was a sane genius or a maniacal one, but GENIUS nonetheless.

So far be it from me to deny myself a new treat with the words “chocolate” and “peanut butter” in their names.

Let me got back to how I discovered this treat. Before knit night on Wednesday, I stopped at the local convenience store for a refreshing beverage & small snack. I went to the aisle with the Corn Nuts because I was craving salty. As I looked around, I saw the Chex Mixes of the world and other random hanging bags of salt. My eyes darted past a bag and caught the glorious words “chocolate peanut butter”.

For a moment, the skies were glorious and the angels were singing.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Bugles

And then I realized what I was looking at. Chocolate Peanut Butter BUGLES**. This would be either the greatest thing on the planet or something that would terrify me until the end of my days.

It’s been 24 hours since I had one and I’m still not sure how I feel.

Do you remember Puppy Chow? The Chex mix with chocolate & peanut butter melted together, then coated in powdered sugar? Well, it was kind of like that. Only without the powdered sugar. And with Bugles instead of Chex.

You know how Bugles have that artificial flavor of corn with enough salt to take down a lesser person? Well. That flavor mixed with the chocolate peanut butter (I’m just gonna call it a chocolate peanut butter paste, okay?) paste was a little alarming at first.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Bugles
a close up of the horror

Yet I could not stop eating them. It was addicting, this trying to figure out if the Bugles were good or bad. I forced them on the rest of the knit night crew, hoping for…I’m not sure what.

According to Rachel, they are: “Repulsive if you savor them. Less repulsive if you bite right in to them, but still not good. Engineered to make me crave them.”

I still don’t know what to think of them. But the remainder are sitting in a bowl in my kitchen beckoning me to try just one more. Just one…

*or, really, peanut butter plus anything. Also, remember

**My brief bit of research tells me this product came out in 2009 sometime, but as I don’t usually go shopping for Bugles, I had not seen them until now.

3 thoughts on “Life List Item #3: Taste mmmph kinds of chocolate or candy

  1. The first people to put peanut butter and chocolate together were Robbie Benson and Donny Most.

  2. Interesting; I’ve had the chocolate peanut butter chex mix as well as the turtle flavored chex mix – both usually sold in that same aisle. They’re both good; but not as good as the King Size Reese’s peanut butter cups I just wolfed down at my desk. I wonder how long I have to bike to ride those off?

  3. I’m all about the sweet/salty thing, but these had an aftertaste that I’m sure was unintended… but the things are so engineered that it was unavoidable. And while I like the engineeredness of the Bugle on its own, add engineered chocolate and I’m a little skeeved out…

Comments are closed.