ain’t found a way to kill me yet

I finally made it back to the gym last night after an unplanned 1 month (maybe longer) hiatus. My goal was to complete Day 1 of the Couch to 5k program & also to feel out how my hip is going to deal with me trying to run.

People. I ran. Sure it was only for a minute at a time, but I RAN for the first time in over a year. Last time I tried to run, my hip SCREAMED at me for long periods of time during the run, after the run, before the run. I was never able to do the full minute of running, so I never got past the first week of Couch to 5k.

But yesterday? It was kind of amazing. I hit my stride in that first minute of running & almost felt like I could push it a little longer (but I didn’t). The next couple running intervals were pretty good, but by the 4th or 5th I was really feeling it – breathing really hard, heart rate way up, all that jazz. But the hip was fine with the running.

I didn’t make it quite through the whole Day 1 program – I had to cut out running in the last 5 minutes ’cause I just couldn’t catch my breath and when I got off the treadmill after a 5 minute cool down walking session, I was a little dizzy.

But I made it farther last night that I had any other time I tried the program. And when I do it again tomorrow I hope to make it through the whole thing.

