In which my brain gets snatched & implanted with strange ideas.

I’ve been thinking lately when I can pull my nose out of a book long enough to be bothered.*

If you’ve known me for any amount of time, you know how I’ve felt about having children of my own. The thing is that lately that feeling is changing. It’s not that I want to run out and have a gaggle of kids or anything, but more a feeling that I wouldn’t mind so much having a child of my own someday in the future.

I don’t know why this little thought has invaded my brain lately – it’s not as if anything in my personal life has changed. I haven’t met anyone new and hell, I haven’t even been on a date in something ridiculous like 4 years, so I really don’t know where this little brain snatcher invasion came from.

Maybe it’s the impending birthday. 35 is approaching at light speed (or in about a month). Maybe it’s just that I’ve finished school and now my brain is free to entertain random thoughts of the future. Then again, maybe I can blame my friend & former coworker Stephanie for all the cute pictures of her baby girl on facebook.

I’m strangely calm about this idea. I feel that I would still be fine if I ended up without children, but I’m open to the possibility. Weird.

*This being done with classes is doing amazing things for my “to read” list. Or at least for my trips to the library. It’s like I’m rediscovering my love of reading.

