Life List, Part 1.

As I approach my 35th year, I’ve been thinking about what I’ve done with my life & all the things I still want to do. So, inspired by Maggie at MightyGirl, I’m doing my own sort of Mighty Life List. A “bucket list”, if you will, of things I want to do or accomplish in my life. Some of them I did borrow from Maggie’s original list, but they were things I wanted to accomplish in some form anyway.

This is a list roughly in thirds so I can start crossing some things off the list while I finish writing out the rest of my goals.

  1. Visit England, Scotland, & Ireland (not necessarily in the same trip).
  2. Go hiking in Montana – maybe Glacier National Park?
  3. Taste 100 types of candy and/or chocolates.
  4. Find the perfect piece of chocolate (for me).
  5. Run a 5k. (If my body will allow this & I don’t injure myself, then I’ll change the goal to a half marathon. Baby steps.)
  6. Learn how to change a flat tire.
  7. Go zip lining.
  8. Visit Canada, even if it’s just going across the border.
  9. Visit Mexico
  10. Taste 1000 fruits & vegetables.
  11. Go to Chile. Stay at Cliffs Preserve.
  12. Have a picnic on the beach. Near an ocean.
  13. Go to Hawaii.
  14. Swim in the ocean.
  15. Eat seafood moments after it’s been caught.
  16. Go on a “tour of Europe” trip.
  17. Go whale watching.
  18. Visit Australia & New Zealand.
  19. Master the Met stair climb.
  20. Karaoke REM’s It’s the End of the World As We Know It
  21. See Chichén Itzá.
  22. See Dave Matthews Band live. I hear they put on a good show. I don’t know how or why I haven’t done this yet.
  23. Learn how to properly cook a steak.
  24. Eat at the restaurants I want to try instead of just keeping a list of them in my head.
  25. Get a maple bacon doughnut from Voodoo Donuts in Portland, Oregon.
  26. Take care of my health issues: heart echo, get back into an exercise program, get off my meds ’cause I’m all healthy-like, go to the dermatologist already.
  27. Get my finances in order.
  28. Eat vegan for a week. See if I can REALLY live without cheese.
  29. Stop drinking soda successfully (success=3 months without ANY soda)
  30. Watch a sunrise.
  31. Fry a chicken.
  32. Work in a job that makes me excited to go to work every day.
  33. Try Bosnian food.
7 thoughts on “Life List, Part 1.

  1. You have never watched a sunrise? You should do that tomorrow. I can’t think of many for my list. I suck

  2. Glacier national park is awesome – I was lucky enough to have a week long training class in Kalispell. Did you know you can take the Amtrak to Whitefish, MT?

    I always feel bad that I don’t really have a bucket list. I don’t know if it’s because I’m not creative enough or if it’s because my life has been unexpected enough or if it’s just that I’m content. But I’m always worried it’s the first. I’d never admit to my meatspace friends that I don’t have one.

  3. Commenting on 22:
    I can’t believe you haven’t seen them! Their tradition is to always begin their summer tour in STL!! Silly Kara!

    Although, the last time I saw them in STL, my license fell out of my back pocket in the bathroom and I never found it. Three years later, some lady mailed it to me while I still lived in CoMo. Just proves Missourians are Rockstars!

  4. You’ve inspired me to make my own list. Thanks gal! :)

    Oh! I’ll be at SLU tomorrow but will be busy toting Dad around for his post-surgical check ups. One of these days, we WILL meet!

  5. re: cooking steak.
    buy 2-3″ thick steaks (fillet or ribeye) and season….don’t listen to the do not season crowd.
    preheat oven to 500 degrees
    heat a cast iron skillet to VERY hot, oil will shimmer
    brown steak in very hot skillet for 4 minutes, turn steak and put skillet in hot oven for 4 minutes for medium rare.
    Perfect steak….I promise.
    Don’t forget to turn the oven off.

Comments are closed.