It leaves today, no conversation

My lease on my current apartment is up in March and while I’m not ready to move yet, I am in that place in my life where I want to.

So yesterday I went and looked at a very cute apartment Mindy found on Craigslist. It was a lovely little place – there was an exposed brick wall, hardwood floors, a little stained glass window in the living room, the bathroom was quite large (especially compared to the ones I’m used to), and the kitchen came complete with a dishwasher. Unfortunately, the bedroom was small. Tiny, even. As were the two closets. I’m fairly sure you couldn’t have fit two of me in either one of them, much less all of my stuff.

I had already decided that if this wasn’t the apartment of my dreams (if only those closets had been bigger…), I was just going to renew my lease for one more year & try to freshen up my current place so that it almost felt I was someplace new. Obviously, this doesn’t include things like a new couch or furniture, but I can do little things like put up some curtains (which I had planned on when I moved in, then never got around to) & hang up the remaining pictures I wanted to put up in my bedroom.

Partially inspired by Jenn’s great purge of 2010 & along with this freshening up will be some decluttering. I’ve already started that just a little bit, but it’s time to step it up. There are a lot of things I can move to my storage unit or just plain get rid of. But it’s going to take some time. The first step will be to go through my storage unit & get rid of some of the stuff in there I don’t need.

The other things I’m thinking about:

  • Moving my board games into storage. It isn’t very likely that I’ll have people over spontaneously and want to play a board game. And even if that happens, it’s not like the storage unit is that far away or so big that I wouldn’t be able to get to them quickly.
  • Moving the CDs into storage as well, although I’m more likely to keep them stored in my apartment. I have nearly everything that’s in CD form on my iPod & I never listen to CDs anymore unless it’s in the car. So there’s no real point having them “on display” in my living room.

Those are the only two solid things I’ve decided at the moment. It’s not much, but it’s a start.  I’d like to go along with Jenn’s great book purge as well, but that won’t happen during this final semester of school. Perhaps I can start that in May, as well.

One thought on “It leaves today, no conversation

  1. I put my cd’s into storage last year. Like you, I had everything on my iPod and found it silly that I had them on display in my living room. And dude, do curtains ever change up the look of a place!

Comments are closed.