In The Kitchen: Crock Pot Chai Tea Latte

I’m having a love affair with my slow cooker. I love the versatility of it – the ability to make SO MANY different things. Since I’m only feeding myself, it’s not practical for everyday use (or believe me I’d use it daily), but it’s great when I’m in the mood for a soup, stew, or even chili. Just last week I took all the ingredients for my standard chili & tossed them in the crockpot on low for 6 hours. I came home to a great pot of chili for a lot less work.

Inspired by Angie, I used part of my day off to try out this slow-cooker Chai Tea Latte Recipe. Even though I took what I knew of the recipe & tried to modify it some, it was still missing something.

YIP 259.365 Crock Pot Chai Latte

What I did:

1. I used the chai spice mix recipe from Chockylit (the same one for the Chocolate Chai Spice Cupcakes). Once I mixed it up, I used 2-3 teaspoons in the actual drink mixture.  I put the rest in a ziploc bag for later use.

  • 2 teaspoons fennel, ground
  • 2 teaspoons cloves, ground
  • 1 tablespoon cardamom, ground
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon, ground (I left it out this time since I was using cinnamon sticks)
  • 2 teaspoons ginger, ground
  • Mix these together in a small bowl.

2. I used 4 bags of black tea (an English Breakfast Tea from Sal’s trip to the States in June) & 1 bag of a chai spiced tea.

3. 1 tbsp of sugar wasn’t quite enough, so about 20 minutes before I had some, I added 2 tbsp of cinnamon syrup to the whole thing.

4. I forgot the vanilla. No good reason, just blanked on it.

What I think it needs:

  • A Chai Latte isn’t generally tea completely brewed in milk. There’s water in there, too. So I think this needs to be half water/half milk when you make it. The all mix concoction was too thick, especially after the liquid cooked down some. And I used skim milk.
  • The spices were off, so I think it needs more of a kick. Even though I increased the spices by quite a bit, I think it could have used even more. Not only cinnamon sticks, but even some ground cinnamon. More ginger. A kick of nutmeg. Maybe a smidge of allspice. Perhaps even a tiny pinch of cayenne to give it some kick. I don’t know. I’ll probably play around with it some more sometime just because it would be fun.
  • The water/milk combo may take care of this, but I’d like it to have a stronger tea flavor. So maybe even a couple more tea bags would work well.

Like I said, this was good, but not great. I think it could be with a few more modifications, though. If you decide to try it, let me know what you do.

2 thoughts on “In The Kitchen: Crock Pot Chai Tea Latte

  1. I’ve never thought of making chai in the slow cooker! what a great idea. thanks for you feedback on it needing to be spicier- I like my chai really spicy, too.

  2. It’s funny…I was just thinking about making crock pot chai for my bookclub next Wednesday at my house. We’re reading “Three Cups of Tea,” so I must have tea…for a group. The crock pot idea sounded perfect. But after reading your review, maybe not so much….

    I once tried the chai recipe from Cooks Illustrated and it was really good…it was on the stove top though…

Comments are closed.