Gingerbread Latte Cupcakes

Over the holidays (which I KNOW were weeks ago now), I went a little crazy with the baking. Okay, I went a lot crazy with the baking.

I made several things to take to our family party on Christmas Eve, like my assigned side dish (mental note: never try to make green bean casserole “healthy”. It tastes like CRAP), salted crispy treats (blogged on the kitchen mirror here as part of the “project with no name that involves cooking through cookbooks and saved links”), and a couple types of cupcakes.

The cupcakes were delicious, of course, but paled in comparison to the crispy treats, cookies, and fabulous snowball cake my aunt baked up. Luckily, I was able to send them home with another Aunt who was hosting her side of the family on Christmas Day.
Snowball Cake
See this cake in the middle? It’s a vision of deliciousness. The inside was chocolate with a cream element. YUM.

And I wonder why I gained a few pounds over the holidays. Let me think about that for a minute.

Right, anyway. I’m not here to wax poetic about my Aunt Norma’s cake. The woman made cakes for a living at one point, of course it’s fabulous.

I was looking for a holiday-centric cupcake recipe to bring to the family when I came across the Gingerbread Latte Cupcakes from Stef at Cupcake Project. Coffee/Latte – GOOD. Gingerbread – GOOD (and how much more Christmassy can you get with a food product?). The recipe CALLED to me. So I made it.

Gingerbread Latte Cupcakes

The cake recipe was prepared exactly the same with no modifications. The rest of it, however, was an experiment in frosting.

For the frosting, there are a few things:

  • I made coffee extract by brewing a few tablespoons of coffee with about 1/2 cup of water in my french press.
  • I could not find marscapone cheese (I have found it since. Apparently I did not look in the correct spot when I searched for it), so I went with a basic cream cheese frosting & added the flavorings.
  • I went with a strictly latte flavored frosting.

So, what did I do? I honestly can’t remember all the details. But if I were to try to recreate my frosting, I’d do it like this:

Take an 8oz brick of cream cheese, softened. Whip it together with 1/4c butter (again, softened). Then you’re gonna add in 2 tsp of the coffee extract (maybe more. I was winging it) & a couple tablespoons of coffee grounds. Or maybe the amount in 2 K-cups. (Yes, I totally busted open a couple K-cups for the coffee grounds. Don’t judge me.) I just whipped that all together with my handheld mixer of doom, then added 3-4 cups of powdered sugar (until good consistency for frosting). Then I put it in a frosting bag (or a sandwich bag with a corner trimmed off), and frosted me some cupcakes. BAM!* You’ve got yourself some gingerbread latte cupcakes.

*I may have used Emeril’s coffee in the frosting since I didn’t seem to be brewing my small sample pack of it. BAM! indeed.

One thought on “Gingerbread Latte Cupcakes

Comments are closed.