FO: Ice in Autumn Hat

While I still have to talk about my knitted projects for the Handmade Holidays, I can’t yet. I still have to get some stuff packed up and in the mail. I am a slacker. Whatever.

What I can talk about is the awesomely amazing hat that I finished last night.

Oh, this hat. I signed on to do a test knit for Sarah (aka The Plucky Knitter) & this hat is the result of that.

Grey Ice Hat

This is a slouchy hat knit with sportweight yarn, so it’s not for the faint of heart. The pattern is not hard, but you must pay attention to it – it’s easy enough that you might mess up if you get too cocky. I speak from experience.

Grey Ice Hat
Pattern: Golden Autumn Hat by Lucy Sweetland (rav link). I knit the large size.
Yarn: Plucky Knitter 50.50 Merino Alpaca Sportweight in Grey Ice
Needles: Size 4 & 5 KnitPicks interchangeables. (I actually swatched & had to go up a needle size.)
Mods: I knit one less repeat of the pattern because I was afraid I’d run out of yarn. In the end, I had 12g of yarn left, so I probably would have run out of yarn. Phew.
Started: December 23, 2009. Finished: January 10, 2010
Notes: The pattern was tedious. Again, not because it was difficult at all, but because I had to pay attention to every row so I didn’t screw up. But the awesomeness of the finished project far outweighs any issues I had while knitting. I LOVE how this turned out. LOVE LOVE LOVE it. I don’t want to send it to Sarah. I want this hat to be mine. Luckily, I’m a nice person & will get it in the mail as soon as I’ve washed and blocked it.

3 thoughts on “FO: Ice in Autumn Hat

Comments are closed.