You know I can do anything*

I have muscles in my hips that I’m pretty sure have never done any kind of exercise. Until now, that is.

Oh, the monster walk. It’s a new addition to my physical therapy to strengthen my hip & take care of my bursitis.

Did I mention that I’m a 90-year old woman? BURSITIS? I am thirty-four years old – how do I have bursitis?**

Anyway, the monster walk. I put a resistance band thing around my ankles and walk like I’m a zombie in the Thriller video up and down the length of the gym. Five times. We started this on Tuesday and I was fine. I even worked out Tuesday night a few hours after I was done with PT. I thought it was a piece of cake. Then I woke up Wednesday morning. My muscles in both hips? They are sore. So I got to do the monster walk again today along with everything else.

My therapist tried to get me to balance on this round plastic thing – kind of like a Bosu ball, but it’s supposed to be easier – and then do squats on it. I laughed when he showed it to me. He knows I have balance issues. I mentioned 7 months with a personal trainer during which I was unable to do such a thing on the Bosu. I tried today, but I couldn’t do more than balance. Any time I tried to squat, I fell off.

I can stand one-footed on a piece of foam (which is harder than it sounds, trust me) for 45 seconds straight, but I can’t do a squat on a wobbly plastic thing. WTF?

I feel like I need a Bosu-type piece of equipment in my apartment that I just spend 20 minutes standing on every day.

Physical therapy is twice a week for the next 2-3 weeks at least. I can not work out on those days. I want to, but I can’t. Two prime workout days gone.

I also tried to get myself out of bed early this week to do the 30 Day Shred DVD. Yeah. That didn’t happen. Maybe in the spring I can do that, but not while it’s still dark outside.

So, I need a new plan.

  • PT days: No workout.
  • Gym days: 1 hour cardio (most likely a class of some kind).
  • Non-gym days (days I can’t get there for whatever reason): 30 Day Shred DVD. Jillian does not mess around – it may be a 20 minute workout, but it is still kicking my ass.
  • I’d like to add the Shred dvd in there on a couple of the gym days as well, but we’ll see how it goes.

I also joined Weight Watchers tonight (the online version). Food is my biggest problem & I know people who have done really well with WW. So I figured it couldn’t hurt to try it. And it looks like it will be good for me if I use the tools & start to learn about the food. I know fruits, veggies, lean protein, BLAH BLAH BLAH. But I need to start really thinking about what foods are filling, what I should be eating more of & less of, etc. So there’s that. I’m also hoping the points will be easier to figure out than tracking calories all day long. Maybe? I don’t know. I’ve never tried this before.

I’m toying with the idea of a once a week weight-loss/health update here. I weigh on Mondays, so maybe on Mondays.

Let’s recap the weights & a couple measurements:
Starting weight 238.0 (using the old scale – the new one weighs about 6 pounds heavier)
Amount lost (as of this morning, which includes slight gain over the holidays): 35 pounds
Starting bust measurement: 50″
Current bust measurement: 45.5″
Starting waist measurement: 48″
Current waist measurement: 43.75″

Did I really just share these numbers with the internet? Well, whatever. If the Biggest Loser contestants can do it, so can I.

Also, if anyone has an energizing replacement for the sweet sweet Dr. Pepper I can’t seem to completely cut out of my life, I would love to hear about it. Nothing with aspartame or HFCS. I still have aspartame issues – IBS isn’t just about stress. :)

Sometimes I think life was easier before I decided to get healthy. Then again, I’ll live longer healthy than I would at 240+ pounds.

* I couldn’t think of a title. There is a lame-ass song on the radio. It seemed to fit with the theme at the moment.

**I am very pleased to have bursitis, though, considering that this whole thing could have been much much worse. Bursitis = physical therapy & a super sexy heel lift. I’ll take that over surgery ANY day.

2 thoughts on “You know I can do anything*

  1. i think the wobbly plastic is actually harder than the bosu! my trainer used to make me do one-legged squats on the foam pad though. you can do it!!! sharing your measurements keeps you accountable. you’re doing great!

  2. When my trainer made me cut down to one diet soda a day, I decided to bite the bullet and drink coffee. My favorite that isn’t all weird and bitter is Medaglia d’ Oro instant espresso. I mix it with more water than is called for and stir in one packet of flavored splenda (either french Vanilla or Caramel) It’s sweet and caffeiney but not calorie or sodium laden.

Comments are closed.