Handmade Holidays: Sewing Projects

As most of my Handmade Holidays gifts have now made it to their respective people, I can start talking about them now.

First up, the sewing projects.

Modeling Mindy's Apron
The apron I made for Mindy turned out to be my favorite project of the year, so much so that I had to do a 50s housewife pose wearing it. I loved the fabrics, the pattern, the whole shebang. Fabulous.
Pattern: Pleated Apron from Amy Butler’s In Stitches: More Than 25 Simple and Stylish Sewing Projects (amazon book link).

For Mindy & her Mr., I did a kitchen set of placemats, napkins, & coasters.
Kitchen set
Pattern: Napkins & coasters (kind of) from Amy Butler’s In stitches again. Placemats with chopstick pocket from Lotta Jansdotter’s Simple Sewing (amazon book link). Note that the chopstick pocket turned out a little small, so I would add an inch to the width measurement if I made them again.
I made the coasters reversible, which was an easy mod. Basically, I just went with 2 pieces the size recommended in the book & sewed them together (right sides facing, left an opening on one side to turn them), clipped the corners, turned them inside out, & top stitched them to close the opening & finish the look. :)

Also for Mindy, some ponytail scarves, which were quick & easy & used a single fat quarter per scarf.
Ponytail Scarves
Pattern: From this tutorial at Sew Mama Sew. I hear that I will need to figure out how to make actual head scarves in the same vein. :)

For Kim, I made a knitting needle roll that will hold a ton of random stuff as well.
Knitting needle roll
The main fabric on the outside here is the same one I used for her bag last year. :)

Knitting Needle Roll
Inside. I had to improvise a bit because I didn’t have chalk to draw the sewing lines with. Oops. For this project, I used this tutorial.

Two-at-a-time bags
I also did these “two at a time” bags for when you’re going to knit projects that require 2 balls of yarn (whether in colorwork or if knitting socks two at a time). Totally Mindy’s great idea, I just executed it. Because I ran short on time and fabrics, I didn’t line any of these bags, although I could have.

The last project was for Mindy’s Mr. – I did a pillowcase in his favorite soccer teams colors with a soccer ball embroidered on it.
Pillowcase
I found clip art of the ball online & just traced it onto the fabric. The pillowcase is a modified version of a free Amy Butler pattern found at her website.

I think I spent more time trying to decide on the sewing projects than I did actually sewing them, but all in all it was fun. If I do this again next year, I’ll have to start planning earlier. :)

2 thoughts on “Handmade Holidays: Sewing Projects

Comments are closed.