you'll find your fortune falling all over town

Not only is the semester over, but I rocked my stats final so hard. Okay, I didn’t rock it at all. I spent three hours working on it and turned it in when every question I was responsible for had something written down. I don’t know how many of them I got right, even.

In the end, I rocked enough to score a B-* in the class. It’s the most exciting B- of my college career.

I have a history of working really really hard for mediochre grades while doing 1/3 the work for A’s & B+’s.

It’s been weird since Thursday, not having to worry about doing homework or studying. I’ve been rocking the Handmade Holidays stuff**, baked 9 batches of cookies on Thursday & Saturday (which you can read all about here), and may have broken my sewing machine. Well, it’s not broken at the moment, but I did break 2 needles on Sunday and it’s making a new noise now that I should get checked out. After I finish the last sewing project on my list for the year.

I may have also picked the worst possible time of the semester to set my mini weight loss goal. The last two weeks of classes I was working every free minute on my stats homework and our group paper for my other class. I have not been to the gym in two weeks. The good news is that I’ve pretty much maintained my weight and my hip feels better because I’ve done NOTHING.  But I need to get back to the gym, which I plan to do tonight.

One of my old SFOMA pals just joined the same gym, so I may get to see her and her kick-ass self there. She’s dropped over 100 pounds. I don’t know when she started, but I can’t wait to see her in person (so far we’ve just reconnected via Facebook). I’m sure that she, much like Mae, will make me want to keep going.

I realized yesterday that my weight loss stalled out about the time my hip started acting up. Coincidence? Maybe. But I think it’s also likely that I haven’t been doing as much as I was before because my hip hurts all the time. I went to see an orthopedic surgeon yesterday & he said the same thing my chiropractor suggested was the problem – I have bursitis in my hip. So I do 6 weeks of physical therapy and reevaluate. If the therapy helps, I just keep up with the stretches and all is good. If not, I go back to the Dr. and we find out what to do. The good news: I can take up running again once my hip is feeling better. My goal for the new year may be to actually find a 5k to run this time instead of having to walk it.

I am aware that I hated running more and more with every step I took. But I want to try it again and see if it was just the hip or if I just don’t like running.

Tonight, though, I’m easing back in with a Step class. Where I will likely get tired halfway through and stumble blindly back and forth over the step bench and hope I don’t fall down. It’s going to be tough to get back in the groove after the semester I had.

*I still don’t understand why the school grades on the -/+ thing instead of just straight up letter grades. Whatever.

**Taking a cue from Deborah, my list of things to finish by Christmas. Or this weekend. YIKES.

  • 1 smallish sewing project with embroidery
  • 1 knitted beret
  • 1 knitted pair of flip-top mitts
  • Gather & wrap presents.
  • Figure out sides to serve with dinner on Christmas day
  • Finalize gift exchange plans
2 thoughts on “you'll find your fortune falling all over town

  1. I also found out that weak hips can make running painful because your stride is messed up. there are exercises I bet your physical therapist can give you to help strengthen them & running won’t suck so much. I have weak hips & have been trying to strengthen them to help my gait. I don’t have $$ for gait analysis, but it can’t hurt to try to help my joints.

    Good luck!

  2. I have a couple of yummy side dishes if you’re interested. One is a corn souffle/casserole that’s so simple it’s ridiculous. The other is a sweet potato dish to die for. Let me know if you want the recipes.

Comments are closed.