Day 25/30: The one the day before Thanksgiving.

I spent a good chunk of the day cleaning and doing my traditional pie baking for Thanksgiving. Per usual, I made my delicious Coconut Buttermilk Pie.
YIP 206.365 Coconut Buttermilk Pie
I actually had enough of the batter for 2 pies & I had two crusts, so I was able to take the smaller one to knit night tonight & share it with the group. I was also able to get my pie eatin’ on before I fill myself up with my aunt’s fabulous cooking tomorrow. I make this one yearly, so I’ve already written about it before on the Kitchen Mirror. (see post here for the recipe).

I also made a second, as yet untested but delicious looking and smelling “pie”. I got the recipe from Stonecutter Beege & decided that I had to try it out.

Coconut Caramel Pecan Pie
Chocolate Caramel Pecan Pie
Gathering some of the ingredients.

3 cups pecans, divided
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter or margarine, melted
1 pkg (14 oz) caramels
2/3 cup whipping cream, divided
1 pkg (8 squares) Baker’s semi-sweet baking chocolate*
1/4 cup powdered sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla

*By all means, don’t use unsweetened chocolate on accident. Luckily I realized this BEFORE I put it on the pie. :)

Chocolate Caramel Pecan Pie
Caramel/Pecan Layer

PREHEAT oven to 350F. Place 2 cups of pecans in the food processor and process until finely ground, using a pulsing action. Mix with granulated sugar and butter; press into 9-inch pie plate. Bake 12 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool completely. If crust puffs up during baking, gently press down with back of a spoon.

MICROWAVE caramels and 1/3 cup whipping cream in a microwavable bowl on HIGH for 3 minutes or until caramels are melted, stirring after each minute. Pour into crust. Chop remaining 1 cup pecans and sprinkle over pie.

PLACE chocolate, remaining whipping cream, powdered sugar and vanilla in a saucepan. Cook and stir on low heat until chocolate is just melted. Pour over pie; gently spread to cover top of pie. Refrigerate at least 2 hours. Makes 10 servings.

Chocolate Caramel Pecan Pie
YUM. I hope.

This one is patiently waiting in my fridge until tomorrow, so I’m sure I’ll report back with how it turned out. But for now, I have knitting to do before I fall asleep.

One thought on “Day 25/30: The one the day before Thanksgiving.

Comments are closed.