Day 14/30: The one where I have clean floors

A few weeks ago I mentioned on Facebook that I was headed to buy a new vacuum – I’d had it with my crappy one that wouldn’t even work long enough to clean my 550 sq. ft. apartment. One of the comments I got back before I headed to the store was from my dad’s girlfriend saying “There goes your Christmas present”. Oops.

Y’all I am spoiled, I know this. I am an only child, so I know that’s part of it, but I still don’t expect that my dad will buy me a $400 vacuum. A $200 iPod for Christmas is reasonable. But this? When I was doing my cheaper vacuum research, it did not even cross my mind that they would be planning to buy me a Dyson just because I mentioned in passing that I wanted one. There is no way I can type the next paragraph without noting that I am a lucky girl to have a parent (& parents when my mom was still with us, & now step-parent even) who will do things like this.

Anyway, I did not buy a vacuum then, so when I went to Festus today & lunched with D-squared*, they asked if I wanted to get the vacuum now or wait until Christmas. I left it up to them because I was fine with waiting since I had borrowed Mindy’s extra vacuum, but I wasn’t gonna say no to getting it early.  Somehow, after lunch we headed out to pick out my Dyson. Of the three choices there, I went with the animal since I do have the cats and they shed about 8 pounds of fur a day. Also, it was only $25 more than the cheaper model but a good $100 cheaper than the more expensive model. Even when it’s not my money, I try to save it when I can.

You guys, it’s the most beautiful thing in the world. I vacuumed my entire apartment and it didn’t die. It left vacuum tracks in my carpet! I vacuumed & there’s not any visible cat fur still laying on top of my carpet! It sucks up kitty litter without a complaint!

I didn’t think you could actually love a vacuum, but I do. It’s fantastic.

YIP 195.365 Early Christmas Present
It took me a good 10 minutes to figure out that I was trying to put the handle in upside down. OOOPS.

Ewww
That fur & dirt in there? It’s from a square of carpet in my living room about 2ft x 2ft square. AND IT SUCKED UP THAT MUCH DIRT!

*This is my new nickname for Dad & his girlfriend since her name starts with D. Of course, I’ll probably forget that by the next time I write about them.


3 thoughts on “Day 14/30: The one where I have clean floors

  1. I immediately recognized that as the DC-17 model. I used to have that vacuum and it was amazing. I love it and I miss it.

    The ONLY thing that kind of sucked (pun not intended, okay, well sorta) was that the cord wrapped around the extension thing, so the entire cord had to be unraveled to use the handheld hosey piece. (Pardon the technical jargon.)

    But this does not make me love you any less, my dearest Dyson. We all have our faults and I accept people – even appliances – for who they are.

  2. I got a Dyson for Christmas last year. I love my Dyson so much I want to knit it a sweater. I missed him when we went on vacation. I introduce Dyson to people when they come over like he’s one of my children. I like him more than I like my kids some days because he does exactly what I tell him to do. I’m going to put a Santa hat on him for our family Christmas picture.

  3. Yay! I’m so happy you’re happy. And you’ll be able to breathe so much better with all the cleaning that bad boy is going to do.

Comments are closed.