Day 8/30: The one where I knit

I’m currently working on my 4th knitting project for the Handmade Holidays 2009 insanity that I have undertaken. This is one of the larger projects I have going – it’s a scarf – and I’m getting bored. BUT at the same time, I keep on knitting on it because I can’t stop. Mostly, I can’t wait to get to the fringe and crocheted edging to see how they turn out.

I know, weird, right? Fringe? Crocheted edging? Who am I and what have I done with Kara?

Originally I had planned to skip the fringe & edging, but decided to go ahead with them anyway at this point. I only hope that I won’t have problems on the edge – since I wasn’t going to do the edging, I slipped the first stitch on each row to give it a cleaner line. This may prove problematic or maybe not. I’m not knowledgeable enough with crochet to really know until I try it.

I only have 2 remaining knit projects after this, one of which is a pair of fingerless mitts that are half done (& counted above) & a pair of socks for my dad out of worsted weight yarn. I wanted them to match his hat, but it turns out that I don’t have enough yarn for that. So instead they’ll be a different shade of brown from my stash.

Today will be a brunch, knit group, then homework. Tomorrow will likely be more homework, but hopefully a trip to the gym and some more knitting in the evening as well.

