Day 3/30: The one where I made cupcakes with Guinness.

One of the hard things about trying to eat healthier is that I love to bake things and share them, usually with the people at one of my two knit groups.

Lately I’ve become quite the cupcake girl. I am not nearly as creative as Stef from Cupcake Project*, I just follow other recipes and slightly modify them to fit my needs.

I have several types that I’ve made and failed to write about lately – so prepare yourself for multiple baking posts this month. In fact, just go ahead and prepare yourself for a lot of food talk this month since I’ve been cooking up a storm lately, too.

Today we talk about the Guinness Cupcakes.
Guinness Beer Cupcakes
I used the recipe from Big City Little Kitchen (which does not appear to exist as of February 2012), with only slight modifications.  The recipe, with my notes:

Cake

  • 1 cup Guinness (you can use another dark beer, but why would you?)
  • 1 stick, plus 1 tb, unsalted butter (always use real butter when baking. The taste difference is very noticeable if you use margarine.)
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 2 cups dark brown sugar (seriously, splurge on the dark brown. It’s right there next to the light brown on the shelf.)
  • 3/4 cup light sour cream
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tb vanilla extract (make sure you use real vanilla & not imitation. I don’t think I really need to say this, but it’s SO MUCH BETTER. And you can get a pretty big container of vanilla at Trader Joe’s for about $4.)
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips

Glaze

  • 8 oz cream cheese I’m pretty sure I went with light cream cheese.
  • 1 1/4 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/3 cup milk

(Instructions directly from the link provided with my notes in italics):

Preheat oven to 350; butter a muffin tin I am a big fan of the foil muffin/cupcake wrappers – they peel away pretty easily.

Combine the Guinness and the butter, chopped into 1-inch chunks, in a large sauce pan, and heat to melt the butter. Remove from heat, and whisk in the cocoa and sugar.
Beer Cupcakes
It’ll look something like this once you mix in the cocoa & sugar.

In a bowl, whisk the sour cream with the eggs and vanilla, then add to the beer mixture. Sift together the flour and baking soda, and fold into the batter. Stir in mini chocolate chips. Pour into muffin molds and bake for 25 minutes, or until inserted cake tester comes out clean. Let stand 10 minutes, remove from muffin tin, and cool completely on a rack. I let mine cool overnight & glazed them the next night.

Using a mixer, whip cream cheese until smooth, sift in sugar, and beat. Add milk, and beat until smooth. Spread glaze over cooled cupcakes.

When you make these, make sure you save one for yourself. The people loved these cupcakes. I had a TON of cupcakes, so I shared with my work people and knit night folks. One of my coworkers said that I should always make these when I do cupcakes. From what I understand, Rachel couldn’t keep them at home long enough for Scott to try one. Sorry, Scott.

I feel like the mini chocolate chips really add a kick to the batter – the cupcakes would be delicious without them, but the addition makes them better.

*Seriously, she just made Garlic Cupcakes and they sounded GOOD. I want to make them!

3 thoughts on “Day 3/30: The one where I made cupcakes with Guinness.

  1. I love, love, love cake and cupcakes with chocolate chips in them – it’s like a tiny surprise that makes them yummy to eat even after they cool down :)

  2. Love all your commentary with the recipe – fun! Thanks for the shout out! You should try the garlic cupcakes.

  3. I would have saved him one but he said something dumb and had to be punished. Yep. That’s my story. I’m sticking to it.

Comments are closed.