Day 2 of 30: Christmas Is Coming. Eventually.

Yesterday at knit group, Carrie mentioned that she needs to get in the Christmas spirit in order to get her holiday crafting on. Which naturally led to a brief discussion of one of the best Christmas movies ever – White Christmas.

It got me thinking, though. There are 4 Christmas movies that stay out of storage year round, even when the others get put away after the holidays. These are my “Christmas in July” movies, if you will – the go to movies when you need a little holiday love in the middle of the year.

The Ref – Mindy says this is the greatest Christmas movie ever. She’s Jewish, she should know. :) It is actually one of the great Denis Leary performances, in my opinion.

Elf -Will Ferrell is often too goofy for me to handle on a regular basis, but his turn as a full-sized elf in this movie just makes you feel the Christmas spirit whenever you watch it. It’s not often in the dvd player, but when it is, it makes me happy.

White Christmas – As I said earlier, this is my favorite Christmas movie of all time. It is not the holiday season until I watch this & that’s usually when I’m decorating for Christmas. I’ve previously mentioned my love of this movie. Several times. Serious serious love. The scene where the general walks in to dinner & all the soldiers are there? Makes me tear up EVERY TIME.

Love Actually – this is actually one of my go-to movies for any time of year. It’s set at Christmas, but I don’t think of it as a Christmas movie. In fact, it’s not even on the section of shelf I have earmarked for the holiday movies that stay in the rotation year round. Any movie with Alan Rickman, y’know.

There are, of course, other Christmas classics that I watch only during the holidays. Most of those are the old Rankin-Bass specials (Rudolph, Jack Frost, The Year Without a Santa Claus, etc.) and, of course, A Christmas Story. But those are in storage with all my holiday decorations, only to be seen during the Christmas season.

One thought on “Day 2 of 30: Christmas Is Coming. Eventually.

Comments are closed.