So don't blow it, not a little bit

I’ve been struggling for a while now with being able to get to the gym & keep my diet in check. This is no secret.

This semester, though, has been killing me. I am stressed out about my classes (specifically, I am stressed about my stats class)  & most nights the last thing I want to do is hit the gym. I’m lucky that I’ve found some classes that I really enjoy, but this week was yet another when I haven’t been to the gym since Sunday. I hit my cardio strip tease class* tonight and was exhausted halfway through. The class is a good workout, but it’s not THAT hard. I should have been tired, but not so much so that I wanted to lay down and die.

Earlier today I was thinking that instead of focusing on losing weight right now, I need to just focus on maintaining until I get through the semester. Once I’m not so stressed out and busy I should be able to get back to a weight loss schedule & make it a habit before the spring semester starts.

The plan:

  • Get to the gym at least 3 times a week for Zumba, hip hop, step, whatever.
  • Do some at home strength training – I have a resistance band & I have 5 pound weights. I should be able to take 15-20 minutes a few days a week to build up some muscle.
  • Work on getting my diet back in check. I haven’t been doing terrible, but I’ve been letting things slide more than normal. Like having onion rings with my lunch today. Not smart. Again, snack on fruits and veggies. Take lunch to work. Stay in my calorie range 6 days a week.

As for this weekend… I’m traveling, so I know I’ll eat somewhat badly, but I’ll keep it in moderation. And take some fruit to snack on in the car.

*there’s no actual stripping, of course, but we do spend some time on the floor. Sexy sexy. :P

One thought on “So don't blow it, not a little bit

Comments are closed.