Hallowines: A review

When my friend Shel asked if I would be interested in reviewing some Halloween Wines, my first response was “but I don’t drink wine”. After a bit of chatting, I agreed & three bottles of wine* were on their way to my front door.

A little about the wines first, courtesy of Elk Creek Vineyards:

Three themed varietals are offered: Bone Dry Red; Ghostly White Chardonnay and Ghostly White Sweet Mellow.

Bone Dry Red is a rich, well-oaked Cabernet Sauvignon brimming with fancy ripe black currant, roasted coffee bean and bitter dark chocolate flavors; all are framed in suave tannins. Ghostly White Chardonnay, barrel- fermented in French oak, reveals ripe apple fruit and hints of citrus. Ghostly White Sweet Mellow will satisfy taste buds which crave the fruity complexities of the Cayuga and Vidal Blanc grapes.

In order to properly taste test the wines, I enlisted the help of Mindy & her husband. Of course, none of us are actually wine drinkers, so there’s that. We first sampled the Bone Dry Red, which Mindy said tasted like Passover. It was a little too dry for my tastes, but was a nice wine. The Ghostly White Chardonnay was next & I enjoyed my glass.

Elk Creek Wines

Finally, I sampled the Ghostly White Sweet Mellow on my own and drained that glass. It was by far my favorite. For a non-wine drinker, it wasn’t overly sweet to me, but just about right.

Being that I’m the sort who enjoys a mixed drink or fancy martini, it was nice to be able to sample something out of my comfort zone. Being able to try the wines from Elk Creek made me appreciate wine a little more & will probably get me to try more wines in the future.

If you’d like to try these Halloween wines on your own, you can buy online at http://www.elkcreekvineyards.com, they can use code SCARYWINE for 10% off 3 wines, or code SCARYCASE for 20% a case (any varietal) and free shipping. The coupons can be used on any type of wine – not just Halloween. We are currently unable to ship to the following states: AL, AK, AR, DE, IL, IA, KS, MA, MD, ME, MI, MN, NJ, NM, NY, OK, PA, RI, SD, TN, UT and WI.

Also, look for coffin displays in Kentucky, Ohio and Indiana Krogers as well as select wine stores. Supplies are limited.

*Here’s your freakin’ disclaimer, FTC – Elk Creek sent me the wines at no cost to review.

2 thoughts on “Hallowines: A review

  1. @Ann: Nope, they’re only carrying it in Cincinnati/Northern Ky stores. BUT, you can order it online with the discount codes Kara mentioned above.

    @Kara: Thank you for the review and for that awesome photo! I’m glad you found one of the wines you really liked. Cheers!

Comments are closed.