I'm exposed and it's no big surprise

It's all about balance It’s all about balance. That’s what I keep reminding myself. It’s what I was doing when this picture was taken. Balance. It’s something I need to really focus on and remember.
I need a little more balance when it comes to food lately, as well as in other areas of life. But right now, let’s focus on the food thing. It’s killing me. Well, not literally, but it’s hurting my diet.

The past week or so I’ve had a lot of trouble staying within my calorie/fat/carb range for the day while also making sure I get enough food to actually satisfy me for the day. And still – getting enough fruits and veggies each day is a challenge. There are a lot of things I really need to focus on in order to get back on track, but sometimes it seems a bit daunting.

  • I need to pay attention to what I’m eating every day. I get hungry between each meal, so I need snacks that will actually satisfy me while also not setting me up for bad choices later in the day. I try to do a lot of fruits for those snacks, but they don’t always do the job. I also try to keep the 100 calorie packs of almonds around, but have been lax in keeping those at work lately, which leads to snacking on the other random food I have in the office.
  • More fruits and veggies. Mostly more veggies – I eat a ton of fruit now, but still need to be sure I’m getting the veggies in.
  • Check the fat and protein – need more protein, less fat.

I’ve been thinking for the past few days that I should look into Weight Watchers – I don’t know if that would be a good solution for me or not, but I’m starting to think better guidelines would really help me get back on track. I also need to get back into the You On A Diet book I had been reading that was helping me think about the way food gets metabolized and all that stuff.

I’ve been doing this since September, which just reinforces that it’s so hard to get rid of an entire lifetime’s worth of bad food habits and adopt new good ones. I’m sure that there will always been times when I backslide a little, but it hasn’t been just one bad day this time – it’s been a week or more. A week right after I broke that 200 pound mark and I don’t want to see myself creep up past it again, even temporarily, because I can’t figure out what to do food wise.

Other than the food thing, the exercise thing has been going better. I was talking to a couple of the folks I work with yesterday about running & I feel better about it – more like it’s something I can actually do even if the 5k is only 5 weeks away. So I came home last night and did 2 circuits around the (small) park. Granted, the majority of it was walking, but I ran when I could. I seem to sometimes have a mental block about it – my brain says “run” and my legs say “oh, hell no”. So there’s that. I think I need to create a running playlist – alternate songs that will get my booty running with songs I can walk a bit to, then as I increase the running I can rearrange the playlist. Apparently one of the songs that gets my booty running is Stronger by Kanye West. Who knew?

I’m hoping that, even though I’ve been crap with the food thus far this week, I can break the 40 pound mark this week. I’m only 1 pound away from it, so I think it’s doable. I just need to focus, get back on track, get my workout on tomorrow and Saturday (maybe even Friday), and just DO this thing.

But first, I’m going to watch a bit of Love Actually and knit some more before I go to sleep tonight. Because that’s how I roll.

7 thoughts on “I'm exposed and it's no big surprise

  1. I, for one, think you are looking fabulous! Keep up the good work. One of these days you might even inspire me to get off my fatty acids and lose this weight.

  2. You really do look fabulous!

    Unsolicited crap: My Weight Watchers leader often sings the praises of having an off week every once in awhile. She says it jars your body to get back on track once you’re back to “living the Weight Watchers lifestyle.” (As corny as it sounds, I think of her words every time I go out and eat a crapload of Indian food. Which is often. Damnit!)

    Also? Microwave popcorn. It fills me up.

    But, most importantly? You look fabulous.

  3. Be careful, your awesome is showing. :)

    You’re doing great, and keeping track of food is hard. Have you seen http://www.fitday.com? It’s free and helps you track your food (you just have to be diligent about entering it in) and shows you your weak spots. There’s a database of common foods so if you don’t have a nutrition label, it has something even if it’s not perfect. But I’ve heard a lot of people use Weight Watchers to get a handle on their food knowledge and then let it go when they are at a good place to watch their consumption themselves without being so restrictive.

  4. You’re so awesome. Seriously, you kick so much ass.

    I second the popcorn suggestion. I get this salt & cracked pepper kind that only comes in minibags.

    Just my random opinion on the exercise thing. It may turn out that running isn’t your “thing”. I used to be a huge runner–all through high school and college, mostly because I had to for soccer. I ran a marathon at the end of grad school, and then I realized I pretty much hated running. It’s only years later that I admitted this and allowed myself to do other things for cardio–but after I didn’t work out for about two years because I HATED TO RUN. I don’t like the stationary bike, but I love riding my real bike around St Louis. I used to hate the elliptical machine in college, now I love it. I think it’s cool for you to do a 5K because that’s a great quantifiable goal that you can work towards, but if, when it’s over, you still really, really hate running, do something else.

  5. if you’re worried about your calorie intake, then WW is probably a good program. i like it because you can still eat stuff you like, unlike with other fad diets. i think i should try counting calories as well.

    i think you’re doing great, and it really sounds like you know what you should be doing and what you need to be doing. finding the willpower and motivation to do those things is the tough part! i’m glad to hear the exercise is going well, though. definitely try a fun and upbeat playlist. there are some songs that just make me want to get up and move, so find which ones do it for you. you do do it!!!!!

  6. Aw, thanks everybody! :)

    I actually use SparkPeople on a daily basis right now (and have since September), but I still tend to go over on the calorie thing. I think I’m back on track (well, I hope, at least), so we’ll see how it goes for the next week or two before I think more about the WW thing. :)

Comments are closed.