the only direction you go

When I went to class yesterday, I got some sad news. The chair of our department had passed away due to complications from cancer. Even knowing he had cancer, it was wholly unexpected because he had been doing well up to that point.

I hadn’t had him as a professor for a couple years, but he taught two of my core courses for the Epidemiology portion of my degree. He was also that rare thing – a department chair who was approachable. He was nice, smart, and a good teacher.

His passing is a great loss to the Public Health community in St. Louis (and probably elsewhere) and to those of us who were lucky enough to be part of his classes.

2 thoughts on “the only direction you go

  1. I’m really sorry for your loss. It is so sad to lose someone so good and valuable to those whose lives he touched.

Comments are closed.