you are here, so am I

Every once in a while, I get the chance to knit with yarn that is a simply amazing combination of color and fiber. I have been fortunate to have two such yarns in my life in the past couple weeks.

I recently finished a project* using Sundara‘s Fingering Silky Merino. The yarn itself was lovely – a fingering weight 50/50 silk/merino blend. But the color? It’s simply amazing.
Flaming Flamingo
The color, by the way, is Flaming Flamingo – it was from the Seasons mailing and I was able to get it through a ravelry destash. Just look at that pink! The subtle variegation in the color goes from the lightest pink to a deep berry color. It knits up beautifully and the resulting fabric is just fabulous. There were a few slubs in the yarn, but I find that I like those little imperfections as long as they don’t compromise the integrity of the yarn or the final piece. I have a lot of yarn leftover and I am actually wondering if I could get a summer tank** of some kind out of the leftover skein and a half – I believe (as do many) that Sundara woefully underestimates the yardage contained in the skein.

While I still have another project on a time limit, I wanted to be able to participate in the current KAL for the Plucky Knitter group on Ravelry. I had managed to score a lonely but lovely skein of Plucky Knitter MCN sport in Early Light during a recent update, and, well….
PK Early Light
…Oh, my. I have just started the Fern Glade beret out of this yarn, but I am seriously in love with the base yarn and the color – I usually tend to go for more saturated colors, but this light blue-grey has me absolutely enchanted. It resembles the sky on a winter morning and is just lovely. The merino/cashmere/nylon blend is particularly sproingy and dense and so far I love it knit up. When I scored this skein, I had been hoping to get enough for a short-sleeved sweater of some kind, but it’s very popular among Sarah’s devoted following.

I find that the more I knit, the more I appreciate fine yarns. I still consider most of them a treat, though – yarns that will become something I love and treasure***, but that will still serve the purpose of embellishing an outfit or keeping me warm through the winter. I still love those earlier projects made out of 100% wool (with twigs, thank you Noro Kureyon), but the softness and beauty of finer yarns for things I will wear around my neck or on my head is a force to be reckoned with.

*FO post coming as soon as I have some modeled pictures.

**I am so in love with the idea of a summer top that I plan to get an undyed silk/merino fingering weight yarn and dye it with the help of Mindy to eventually create my very own Goddess. I may be ready to do that by the end of the summer. :) I do love the Sundara, but I can get undyed yarn for an entire top for less than I’d pay for a skein of hers dyed. It may not be the same base yarn, but it is still the silk/merino blend that I think would be fabulous for that top.

***For some reason, this reminds me of my mom – she was an avid quilter (among other crafts) and always insisted that her quilts THAT SHE QUILTED BY HAND be used and used well. The one she made me is slowly falling apart, the fabric worn nearly threadbare in places, colors not in my decorating scheme, but I still have it in the rotation of bed coverings. While I have a few others she made me, the first one is the only one that was meticulously hand quilted – two of the others were machine quilted, one was tied. I also have one my dad made (yes, my father made me a quilt) that is also hand quilted. I don’t remember if I had a point. Maybe it was that the finer things we make should not just be display pieces, but should be functional and useful. Something like that.

One thought on “you are here, so am I

  1. Jealous of that yarn. JELUS! I’ve looked over your stash on flickr and I have a question. Where do you find such great yarn? I know you said you’re in a yarn subscription club. Can you tell me how that works? I was looking over Sundara’s site yesterday and I was just confused. I know it’s $30 a month and you get yarn, but how much and how to pick colors/weights and all that went over my head, as well as knowing how and when to sign up. It looked like I can’t sign up until mid-summer when she opens subscriptions again. But I could have read that wrong.

    So with you on the heirloom projects. They are meant to be used and loved. My favorite blanket as a kid was a crocheted number from my great-grandmother and I think she loved the fact that I wouldn’t leave home without that blanket more than she worried that I put two holes in it. I hope my kids love my blanket projects for them as much as I loved that blanket. And before my great-grandmother died, she crocheted me an afghan for my wedding, and a baby blanket for my first born. Now that blanket, I’m more careful with. The kids get to use it for naptimes or on their beds, but it does not leave the house. My great-grandmother passed away three months before my first was born, so there would be no replacements, unless I did them, and it’s not the same.

Comments are closed.