running to the future

So the running? I SUCK at the running. Seriously, it’s major suckitude.

I’m doing the couch to 5k plan to try to prep for actually running the 5k in June. And really, it’s SO MUCH HARDER than I thought it would be. I’m only up to day 3 of the training at the moment — it’s been really tough to find the time to work the run into my schedule when I’m already working out 4 times a week and at least 3 of those are at the gym (2 with Brian the Trainer, one in a class).  So adding in another 3 days? I need to find a good way to do it without feeling like I don’t have any time off. And I need that at least a couple days a week.

But back to the running and the sucking – I ran on Sunday and couldn’t make it all the way through the intervals. I spent a good portion of the “running” time walking. The best I could do was run in 30 second intervals. On the way home, I forced myself to run up a small hill, but still didn’t quite make it.

Tonight was better, though. I went to the gym and spend my time on a treadmill. I did my intervals just as instructed – 60 seconds running followed by 90 seconds walking. Repeat. And y’know what? I still sucked at it. But I powered through.

The biggest issue I’ve encountered with trying to run is that my legs start to hurt really quickly. I’m not sure how to get past that hump, either, except to keep going. Actually, this is one of the issues I’m dealing with during the whole workout in general – I’m always gung ho to get in the gym and work until I get there and the sweat starts dripping into my eyes, my legs and arms and body start hurting,  and I get tired 10 minutes into a workout (whether with Brian or in a class). This bugs me – I have a mental block that wants me to take a break whenever I get tired, or hurt. And I don’t know that I’m really getting all that much out of it if I stop every 10 minutes to take a breather, even if it’s just for a few seconds.

I am 6 pounds away from breaking the 200 pound mark. If I was on the Biggest Loser, I would totally hit that in a week. But since I am not, it’ll take a couple more than that at least.

Enough complaining. Enjoy this picture of the new addition to my apartment – Fiona the Falafel kitty.
Fiona & me

2 thoughts on “running to the future

  1. Pretty Kitty!

    Keep it up, girl! You’re doing fine! Like you said, the best way to combat the pain is to power through it and it’ll get easier. I started the second week (migraine/flu and back problems set me back so I did a couple extra week 1 workouts to get back on track) today and Oh. My. God. I can breathe fine. I can keep going the whole 90 seconds. But duuuuude, my calves hurt soooo freakin’ bad! I just cranked up my music (borrowed an iShuffle) and put my head down and kept going. I think I can, I think I can, I think I can…

  2. 1. The running does get easier. I can actually run a mile on the treadmill without stopping. (I started working out in October 2006)
    2. Eventually the pain takes longer to kick in. Push a little more each time that you can and you’ll get there.
    3. I’ve actually started to use the phrase “a good kind of pain”. I don’t know what’s wrong with me.
    4. Eventually you see the pain or sweat as good things because you’re really pushing.
    5. Keep at it!

Comments are closed.