changing my crazy ways

It’s been a rough couple weeks on the health and weight front – basically since I got the news about my cholesterol and triglycerides. I know I’m doing everything I can, but it’s still been frustrating.

So, to that end, I picked up a book recommended to me by one of The Stonecutters about how the body processes food and all that jazz. It’s an interesting read so far, but there’s still a lot to get through.

One of the interesting things I came across in my reading was how fructose actually works in the body. When you eat foods containing fructose (including your high fructose corn syrup), the brain doesn’t recognize it as food, or at least not as regular food. So instead of getting signals that your belly is all full of yummy goodness, you get signals that you are still hungry and crave more food. So instead of filling you up, in essence HFCS can make you hungrier. *

I knew the stuff was bad for you, but I didn’t know how it affected the body and why it was such a bad idea to have it in our diets. Totally validates my decision to cut it out of my diet.

*The book? You on a Diet by Michael Roizen & Mehmet Oz. Yes, Oprah’s Dr. Oz. Go figure.

One thought on “changing my crazy ways

  1. those things are treatable, and as you get healthier and lose more weight, i have no doubt that those levels will drop. that being said, i know it’s scary and frustrating, and stressful as well, i’m sure.

    I read a book called ‘fatland: how americans became the fattest people in the world’ and it was REALLY good. i have sworn off HCFS almost entirely because of it. fructose is just not broken down by the body the same way as sucrose. and eating a lot of HCFS can actually lead to elevated triglyceride levels. very glad you’ve cut it out of your diet :)

Comments are closed.