have to eat them all in just one sitting

Angie over at FluidPudding “hosted” a bread-pudding-a-long this weekend and, well, I love bread pudding so I had to join in.

As part of the challenge, I looked for a “healthy” recipe for bread pudding and happened on this one, which looked fantastic as the original. I, of course, being me, made a few changes. Mostly because I didn’t read the recipe so well as I was making it. Oops.

Banana Bread Pudding

So, here is my version of Banana Bread Pudding.
1/3 cup 1% low-fat milk
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 large egg
2 cups (1/2-inch) cubed bread (about 2 slices) – I used a wheat bread baguette for this.
Cooking spray
1 cup mashed ripe banana (about 2 bananas)
4 teaspoons granulated sugar
2 tablespoons semisweet chocolate chips.

In small bowl, combine milk, brown sugar, cinnamon, & egg. In each of two 8-ounce ramekins (or, um, foil tart pans since that’s what I had), place 1/2 cup of the bread cubes. Spoon 2 tablespoons of the egg/milk mixture over the bread. Top with 1/4 cup mashed banana. Sprinkle with 1 teaspoon sugar. Repeat with remaining bread, milk mix (if you have more than 4 tbsp leftover, cover the bread with the remaining evenly), banana, sugar. Chill 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350. Top each pudding with 1 tbsp chocolate chips, bake 50 minutes or until done.
Makes 2 servings.

It’s really tasty warm and topped with some whipped cream. YUM.

Calories: 343, Fat: 8g, Protein: 9g

4 thoughts on “have to eat them all in just one sitting

Comments are closed.