up on my feet again

We are less than one week into 2009 and I already have 2 FOs to show you. Granted, one of them was getting close to done at the end of 2008, I just happened to finish it in 2009.

The first of the projects is a simple but nice scarf out of cashmere. YUM.
Scrunchable Scarf
Details:
Pattern: Scrunchable Scarf I cast on 32 stitches, slipped the first stitch of each row & knit the last stitch of each row.
Yarn: 3 skeins (300 yards) Plucky Knitter Aran Cashmere in Florin, which was absolutely lovely to work with.
Started: November 7, 2008.
Completed: January 1, 2009
Notes: I used every bit I could of those 3 skeins of yarn and the scarf came out a bit shorter than I like. Perfectly serviceable, though – I can wrap it completely around my neck. I am just a freak who likes my scarves to be about 70″ long.

Next up, a nice hat to fit my large head. I think people are starting to realize that we don’t all have tiny noggins since I have now successfully made 2 hats & 2 berets suitable for wearing.
Turn A Square
Details:
Pattern: Turn A Square by Jared Flood/Brooklyn Tweed
Yarn: Dyeabolical Yarns Silk/Merino Roving (spun by Kim), Cascade Lana D’Oro. Both leftover from my Thrummed Mittens, used less than 1 skein of the Cascade, used about 40 yards (I think) of the handspun.
Started: January 3, 2009
Completed: January 4, 2009
Notes: I had some issues with the jogless join initially, but those seemed to clear up once I got past the first color change.
I still have a bit of the handspun and just over 2 skeins of the Cascade leftover, I’m trying to decide if there is enough to make a neckwarmer or cowl – obviously the gray would be the dominant color since I have so much more of it leftover.

I now have a bit of cast-on-itis. I have a lot of yarn, but am not really sure what I want to be knitting. I started a tote that is going to change to a yoga mat bag (necessity is the mother of invention. Or knitting. Something like that), I started another scarf out of some more handspun, I have a sweater & 2 pair of socks on the needles already, & I found yet another interesting (but easy) scarf pattern yesterday that I want to make. I also start the semester next week, so I’m trying to make as much of this last bit of freedom as I can.

3 thoughts on “up on my feet again

  1. ooh! cashmere – yummy! everybody i know thinks they have a big head…maybe i just have a SMALL head :)

Comments are closed.