like the coldest winter chill

Over the weekend I sat down with a couple movies and my knitting and made myself a quick and easy project. Well, quick as in I finished it less than 18 hours after I started it and still managed to work a good 8+ hours of sleep and at least one meal in there. I think it took me a total of 5-6 hours of knitting time from start to finish.

Le Slouch
I present to you my first beret. And it fits my giant head.

I loved this project from start to finish. It was quick and easy, suited my needs for something to wear on my head while it’s super cold here, and the yarn was fantastic. The only thing I wasn’t really happy with was my cast on – I used backwards loop this time and it was a little sloppy looking.

Le Slouch
Details:
PatternLe’ Slouch by Wendy Bernard (link to pdf of the pattern)
YarnSee Jayne Knit Mercerized Wool in Green Tea (link to her etsy shop, although she is on vacation at the moment).
Needles – Used size 8 dpns, switched to my size 9 KP circs after the ribbing. Finished using magic loop (mostly because I don’t have size 9 dpns).
Notes –  This yarn is fantastic to work with. Jayne does some pretty amazing dye work and her semi-solids have quickly become some of my new favorites. The mercerized wool is machine washable and super soft. It’s also got a little bit of a shine to it. This colorway in particular was fabulous – shades of green from yellow-green to a deeper almost forest green. I used a little over 1/2 a skein for this project, I think I have enough left to make the Maine Morning Mitts, too (fingers crossed!). Love, love, love this yarn. LOVE.

One thought on “like the coldest winter chill

Comments are closed.