May your days be merry and bright

I spent a good portion of my weekend getting my crafty on.

Friday night, the girls came over for a bit of knitting and (in my case) cutting out pattern pieces for stockings. And pancakes. There were pancakes, too.

Saturday I headed out to St. Charles for a small crafty day at Nominimom’s place, and since I was out that way I decided to check out Knit & Caboodle before I hunkered down with my knitting. I hadn’t been there before, so I didn’t really know what to expect. But I have to say that I was quite impressed with their selection and everyone that worked there was very friendly (even the people I didn’t already know). I spent a few hours then working on my super-secret knitting project, talking, and eating.

Last night I stayed up way too late sitting at my sewing machine working on some stockings for etsy (which will be listed later tonight).
StockingsStockingsStockings
I only made the three at the moment to see how they do, but have fabric to make more.

I also hunkered down and worked on the Birdie Sling (Amy Butler pattern) that I’ve had cut out for a few weeks.
Birdie Sling
This was probably the most complicated thing I have sewn thus far, with pleats, pockets, bands, and odd shaped handle…but it wasn’t to terribly difficult. This is the second AB pattern I’ve tried and in both cases the instructions are written clearly enough for a beginner to do well.
Birdie Sling
The bag is by no means perfect (I was up until nearly 3a.m. working on it, after all), but I’m happy with it overall.

Today I put the sewing machine and iron away and am back to the knitting needles again while checking out some new to me holiday movies, at least until after knit group.

2 thoughts on “May your days be merry and bright

Comments are closed.